The House I Live In - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The House I Live In Reviews

Page 2 of 4
November 22, 2012
Jarecki offers 100 small conclusions rather than one big one for you to take away.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 22, 2012
This urgent and formidably smart movie - perhaps the year's most important political documentary - has opened minds and changed laws already.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
November 20, 2012
Tells a complex story with troubling ease.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 19, 2012
Persuasively argues that punitive laws against users have historically involved disproportionately targeting poor, non-white communities.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 13, 2012
Jarecki's parade of experts and eyewitnesses is impressive, as are his arguments that race and class prejudice enter into the policing efforts of America's drug warriors.
November 9, 2012
The House I Live In is a work of journalism, not propaganda: Jarecki has done his research and leaves it to you to decide what to make of it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 5, 2012
Jarecki's conclusion is powerfully plausible
November 1, 2012
If [it] takes a while to focus, it eventually becomes the conversation starter the subject desperately needs.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 29, 2012
There's no confusion about Jarecki's point of view in The House I Live In- he's out to make the case that America's drug laws cause far more damage, to individuals and communities, than drug use ever has
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
October 27, 2012
The film deserves credit for offering a unique perspective on a relevant social issue.
October 26, 2012
Depressingly credible.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 26, 2012
The House I Live In is depressing stuff, but it sparks the fires of anger, and from that anger, possible action.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
October 25, 2012
This film could serve as a potent tool for those trying to change 40 years of public policy.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
October 25, 2012
A thought-provoking, compelling documentary that encourages you to look at our national drug policy in a broader context.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
October 25, 2012
Statistics abound in this thorough analysis of the declared war [on drugs] that, like Vietnam, we are losing.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
October 24, 2012
A devastating dispatch from the front lines of America's war on drugs, the film tracks the rise of the prison-industrial complex as masterfully as the filmmaker's previous work took on its older military-industrial cousin.
October 18, 2012
Jarecki takes a highly original approach to create a compelling, thought-provoking look at a highly relevant and controversial topic.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
October 18, 2012
You will hear a Lincoln historian, Richard Lawrence Miller, compare the War on Drugs to the Holocaust and be convinced. Then Jarecki finds a Lexington, Oklahoma corrections officer who finds his way to many of this man's same conclusions.
Full Review | Original Score: A
October 14, 2012
It's hard to deny the frustration of judges and correctional officers who have seen people locked away for decades while drug usage remains constant.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 12, 2012
An absorbing, disturbing sit.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 2 of 4