The House That Jack Built - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The House That Jack Built Reviews

Page 1 of 6
December 15, 2018
It stands as a representation of ego and misogyny from a filmmaker who deems it necessary to reaffirm his controversial status.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/10
December 20, 2018
It's almost a relief when, surrounded by the fiery pits, Jack falls. So too, it seems, has von Trier.
January 18, 2019
Here, examined, we're given instead raw narcissism, humdrum in the end, a soul worth glimpsing only for a second before casting aside. Nothing to behold.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
December 11, 2018
The belligerence makes it impossible to celebrate any kind of fictional sadism, and it's all the more troubling when you look around the cinema and everyone is cackling.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
December 10, 2018
This film chooses to eulogize the abuser, which is a troubling side to take - even in art.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
January 14, 2019
Von Trier's ruminations on extreme violence and its depiction in art would be worth considering if he weren't adding more bodies to the pile in the next frame.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 29, 2018
[...] unsubtle enough to wonder if von Trier had anything to say besides, "Thank you for letting me get away with this for so long."
Full Review | Original Score: 3/10
December 12, 2018
Instead of being naturally funny and abrasive, von Trier's anger and indignity turns The House That Jack Built into a "woe is me" diatribe that stops short of begging for forgiveness and instead pleads for a sense of understanding.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/10
December 12, 2018
The film certainly isn't interested in the engineering of drama; just shock and disgust and the projection of Von Trier's incoherent ideas.
November 16, 2018
The house that Von Trier builds is one of null thought and bombastic noise. [Full Review in Spanish]
December 7, 2018
If von Trier is instead merely content telling a sick joke - and the soundtrack, including the repeated use of David Bowie's Fame, suggests as much - it leads to a punchline we've all heard before.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
May 17, 2018
All it amounts to is narcissistic gesturing and it's difficult to get offended by such obvious provocation.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
May 17, 2018
One of the most gratuitously nasty, offensive movies it has ever been my misfortune to endure.
May 15, 2018
I'm glad that von Trier is continuing his self-examination. But I don't think I want to hear from him again until he's had an actual breakthrough.
May 14, 2018
A "Human Centipede" ass-to-mouth concertina of gruesome misogyny and utter tedium.
Full Review | Original Score: F
May 16, 2018
There will be those who seek to pick this film apart, perhaps dissecting it in order to pronounce it a magnificent work of art. It would be time wasted.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Top Critic
May 17, 2018
It's...like von Trier is arguing with himself, locking us into a debate between his ego and his self-loathing, his confidence and his self-doubt.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
May 16, 2018
A great film this is not.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
January 10, 2019
It may be the dullest film about serial killing in the history of dull movies about serial killers.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
June 28, 2018
If you clutch your pearls and get offended, then you've lost the game.
Page 1 of 6