The House That Jack Built - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The House That Jack Built Reviews

April 8, 2019
Von Trier may be a provocateur, but his brand of provocation seems to be growing stale.
March 4, 2019
If this shrill, manipulative, sledge-hammer allegory is right for our times, give me Dante any day. Von Trier has certainly done better, but never worse.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 18, 2019
Here, examined, we're given instead raw narcissism, humdrum in the end, a soul worth glimpsing only for a second before casting aside. Nothing to behold.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
January 10, 2019
It may be the dullest film about serial killing in the history of dull movies about serial killers.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
December 24, 2018
There are two sadists here. One of them happens to be onscreen.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
December 16, 2018
To dismiss "Jack" out of hand in offense is not just to miss von Trier's point, but to prove it.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 14, 2018
The film finds von Trier wrestling with the claims of misogyny and misanthropy that have followed him his entire career, but not in the way you'd expect.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 14, 2018
Von Trier... simply dallies with disgusting images and ideas in a carefully calibrated, ante-upping ploy to attract attention...
December 13, 2018
A provocative idea executed with a halfhearted commitment.
December 13, 2018
It fails to make depravity an experience that either stimulates or appalls. If I wanted to leave von Trier's movie, it wasn't because I was nauseous.
Top Critic
December 13, 2018
One of the most thoughtful, honest onscreen meditations on morality and personal culpability in quite some time.
December 13, 2018
With The House That Jack Built, Von Trier has tapped into the fact that what makes serial murder a valid focus for a film is precisely the unsettling extremity and incomprehensible character of it.
December 13, 2018
A grotesque, lopsided edifice - take a few steps back and look up in sickened awe.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
December 7, 2018
If von Trier is instead merely content telling a sick joke - and the soundtrack, including the repeated use of David Bowie's Fame, suggests as much - it leads to a punchline we've all heard before.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
May 25, 2018
An empty provocation, The House That Jack Built aims for profundity but achieves only mild queasiness.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
May 17, 2018
It's...like von Trier is arguing with himself, locking us into a debate between his ego and his self-loathing, his confidence and his self-doubt.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
May 16, 2018
A great film this is not.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
May 15, 2018
As a longtime admirer of the director's work, I can't quite believe I'm saying this, but the most shocking thing I found about The House That Jack Built is how tedious it is.
May 15, 2018
The House That Jack Built is a disturbing and sometimes sickeningly graphic portrait of twelve years and five murders in the career, if that's the right word, of Jack, a serial killer played with world-class creepiness by Matt Dillon.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 15, 2018
Dillon might have trouble putting this one at the top of his resume if he wants to do a Disney film, but there's no question he delivers an impactful movie monster, with darting eyes and a toothy smile that makes Jack at once seem empathetic and bonkers.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
May 15, 2018
Undoubtedly a bold and stimulating film which no one but Denmark's notorious provocateur-auteur could have made.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 15, 2018
Lars von Trier is a stupid, arrogant troll and, when the mood strikes him, a reasonably talented filmmaker. But there are only a few moments in "The House That Jack Built" in which his stupidity doesn't entirely overwhelm and negate his talent.
May 15, 2018
It is an ordeal of gruesomeness and tiresomeness.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
May 15, 2018
The House That Jack Built is definitely something to see. But what's most surprising is that it's just as often inane as unsettling.
May 15, 2018
It's halfway between a subversive good movie and a stunt. It's designed to get under your skin, and does.