The House with a Clock in Its Walls - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The House with a Clock in Its Walls Reviews

Page 1 of 10
March 15, 2019
A horror movie for kids that simply works under is Spielbergian style. Jack Black shines. [Full review in Spanish].
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 6, 2019
Nobody's idea of an innovative masterpiece, but at least an unpretentious, lavishly designed, and mischievously executed spookshow.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 26, 2019
As a movie, it isn't the best. Jack Black's character is there, he is different and yet the same as other characters he's played before and falls flat when not paired with Blanchett's Florence.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
February 8, 2019
Dark, flawed, and often too scary.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 6, 2019
It's a smart movie that respects the intelligence of its audience, filled with good gags, strong performances ... and a few scares. All in all, a great time at the movies.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
January 25, 2019
Harks back to the classic heart-warming ghost stories of yesteryear, just with a dollop of Harry Potter thrown in for good measure.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
January 18, 2019
There's nothing scary here. Nothing interesting. Nothing notable. Unless you need a nap, skip it.
January 14, 2019
Everybody obviously had a blast on this, and the adult actors in particular were very fun to watch. Jack Black and Cate Blanchett had some great bickering, and Kyle MacLachlan wasn't afraid to ham it up when necessary.
January 12, 2019
If this soulless slog is any indication of what to expect from future Amblin wannabes, then we're all in trouble, as it isn't Back to the Future as much as it's bleak for the future.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
January 7, 2019
I found my attention wandering.
December 21, 2018
...What keeps The House with a Clock in Its Walls moving and worthwhile is its cast, particularly the teaming of Jack Black with Cate Blanchett.
November 27, 2018
I declare this far and away my favorite Eli Roth directing effort.
November 16, 2018
At some point during the film, when my pessimism ought to have overwhelmed the occasion, I simply forgot I was an adult and descended freely into the material.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 5, 2018
Good performances, fun plot (for children), and just a pinch of fear -- this could easily be a Halloween children's classic. [Full Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 7.7/10
November 5, 2018
Gore-movie maestro Eli Roth (Hostel) tries changing his spots with this multiplex effort but struggles to conjure up a family film of any real distinction or character.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 2, 2018
It's very apparent that Roth is having a blast bringing this world to life and making a scary movie without being able to rely on his splatstick shtick. This is a movie that has a lot of fun being a movie
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 1, 2018
A startling mishmash of tones - the goofy kid-approved levity in with upper-tier night terror imagery.
Full Review | Original Score: C
October 31, 2018
And using these techniques, he has fashioned a fun, chuckle-worthy take on the 1973 book of the same name, one that never feels ironic nor a heavy-handed exercise in visual style.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
October 30, 2018
Wonderful baroque production and set design... The timely jump scares and comedic banter between Black and Blanchett also help make the film entertaining enough for young moviegoers.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 29, 2018
The film has a well-established story and shares some very important life lessons. [Full Review in Spanish]
Page 1 of 10