The Hurt Locker Reviews

Page 2 of 15
February 27, 2018
Based on the experiences of the journalist Mark Boal, who lived with a patrol similar to the one that's featured in The Hurt Locker, the film finds a perfect channel in its episodic structure... [Full review in Spanish]
February 27, 2018
Bigelow masterfully narrates the work of these professionals who face death every day, several times a day; and concentrates on the minimal and essential details of life on the front. [Full review in Spanish]
February 5, 2018
The Hurt Locker is the finest movie yet about our war in Iraq.
February 4, 2018
This may be the same sun-bleached Iraq of dusty dirt streets and open deserts we've seen in other Iraq war films, but it's a different kind of movie. Director Kathryn Bigelow's handheld camerawork roams like a spotter's eyes...
January 17, 2018
The Hurt Locker is without a doubt one of the best war pictures I have ever seen, and I have seen most of them.
September 12, 2017
I probably should have seen this movie when I had the chance in theaters, but as a DVD it didn't live up to the hype, though it was well done.
August 22, 2017
As a war movie the film. . .is content to ply the old standbys, such as the men in the trenches who understand the reality of the war, the effete desk-bound commanders who offer useless advice, and the civilians who exist merely as cannon fodder.
February 23, 2016
We may not like Staff Sgt. James all that much, but those of us who get our adrenaline fixes at the movies can recognize a bit of ourselves in him.
February 16, 2016
More than anything, The Hurt Locker is a high-wire study of men at work, its lack of overt politics replaced by a revelatory central performance.
February 25, 2015
One of the best-made films of 2009.
February 25, 2015
There is much that is fiercely modest about its ambitions. And, for a war film, it is often disconcertingly quiet.
February 25, 2015
This is a harrowing picture, made all the more disturbing because it's based in a war that is being waged right now.
February 25, 2015
An important, intense, nail-biting experience -- really quite unforgettable.
February 25, 2015
The idea of watching people risking being blown to smithereens might not create a box office blockbuster. But this is certainly director Kathryn Bigelow's best film since Point Break in 1991.
February 25, 2015
Locker is merciless in its wretched view of life during wartime. IEDs, suicide bombers, even old-school sniper fire -- all these things are around to remind soldiers that death is imminent at any waking minute.
February 25, 2015
The Hurt Locker succeeds where others haven't, putting you in the boots of highly trained Army personnel. And since they're experts at defusing bombs, it's understandable if you shake in them.
February 25, 2015
It is visceral filmmaking at its best.
February 25, 2015
The movie pays off so well because it places you fully in the shoes of the men, from their fears and obsessions to their paranoia about virtually every Iraqi citizen they encounter.
February 25, 2015
A sudden, extended sniper attack, coming midway through the movie, is the best sequence I've seen on film this year.
February 25, 2015
One of the best war movies I've seen.
Page 2 of 15