The Ides of March - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Ides of March Reviews

Page 2 of 12
January 4, 2012
It's clear the Ides of March is about the nuts and bolts of politics.
December 28, 2011
... A political thriller that concerns itself more with issues of loyalty and trust than advancing a particular agenda.
Full Review | Original Score: B
December 22, 2011
It's politics. How many times do we say that in our work lives or in reference to an organization with which we are involved?
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
December 16, 2011
Yet another fantastic performance from Ryan Gosling, in what has turned out to be his breakout year that elevates him to the top rank of actors.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 26, 2011
The twists and shocks of this story are delivered with emotional precision, each one landing like a heavy punch to the stomach, making every minute crackle with intensity.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 26, 2011
I'd strongly urge you to hand over a $10 donation and support The Ides Of March. It has my endorsement!
Full Review | Original Score: A-
November 25, 2011
I left the theater feeling I had gotten exactly what I'd expected, but wishing I'd seen a crazier movie, one where those twin Iagos, Giamatti and Seymour Hoffman, had done more than worry in the wings.
Full Review | Original Score: 88/100
November 23, 2011
I'm so convinced that Clooney will eventually make his Huge, Important Film About American Politics that it's odd to me he's made this one: his small, entertaining film about American politics.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 23, 2011
As a portrait of power, hubris and the systematic corruption of integrity, The Ides of March makes for compelling viewing. It's well-crafted, wonderfully scored and solidly acted across the board.
November 23, 2011
A terrific political drama that growls with low tension and the cynicism of the disillusioned.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 22, 2011
Like the charming, inoffensive candidate with some great ideas and an impressive brains trust...[it's] more than capable of spouting some mildly-inspirational truisms about the nature of politics and looking good in a suit while saying them.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
November 20, 2011
se proideazei gia kati poly perissotero dramatiko kai epikindyno, kai to problhma ths einai oti de katafernei na to ylopoihsei
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 20, 2011
Engrossing, immensely relevant and completely timely, The Ides of March is a triumph for all concerned
November 20, 2011
A gripping political drama in which loyalty, principles and integrity tumble like a house of cards when betrayals alter perceptions
November 14, 2011
Wallows in fashionable cynicism
November 8, 2011
What it lacks in sheer insight it makes up for in bravura.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
November 4, 2011
There's even a scene where a couple making love start laughing, because in the background on TV is Clooney himself... the very man who's directing them on the other side of the camera. What a strange brew that is!
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 4, 2011
All the back stabbing and double dealing in the film is depressing and uninspiring. Nevertheless, I was impressed with the dialogue, the acting and overall slick way this film was crafted.
Full Review | Original Score: B
November 1, 2011
A dryly gripping thriller, as intelligent, professional and well-groomed as its director-star. Just don't expect to learn anything new.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 30, 2011
It's an intelligent, consistently involving thriller with the kind of unexpected melodramatic events that crop up in all US elections.
Page 2 of 12