The Ides of March - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Ides of March Reviews

Page 2 of 12
February 16, 2012
Like Clooney's straightforward and unflashy directorial style, The Ides of March proves to be an effective drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 7, 2012
"The Ides of March" is a solid film, but it could have been better if it challenged the audience more than it does.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
January 27, 2012
It has disdain for the process, showing the inherent hypocrisy living inside the political system and the corruptive influence it can have on the lives and mores of seeming innocents caught up within its withering whirlpools of self-aggrandizement.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 20, 2012
A rehash of a recent political phenomenon dressed up to seem more daring than it actually is.
Full Review | Original Score: 39/100
January 13, 2012
Ironically, one ends up feeling both skeptical and cynical about this movie that wants to have it both ways but, instead, ends up just as deeply cynical and flawed as its characters and the system it seeks to expose.
January 4, 2012
It's clear the Ides of March is about the nuts and bolts of politics.
December 28, 2011
... A political thriller that concerns itself more with issues of loyalty and trust than advancing a particular agenda.
Full Review | Original Score: B
December 22, 2011
It's politics. How many times do we say that in our work lives or in reference to an organization with which we are involved?
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
December 16, 2011
Yet another fantastic performance from Ryan Gosling, in what has turned out to be his breakout year that elevates him to the top rank of actors.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 26, 2011
The twists and shocks of this story are delivered with emotional precision, each one landing like a heavy punch to the stomach, making every minute crackle with intensity.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 26, 2011
I'd strongly urge you to hand over a $10 donation and support The Ides Of March. It has my endorsement!
Full Review | Original Score: A-
November 25, 2011
I left the theater feeling I had gotten exactly what I'd expected, but wishing I'd seen a crazier movie, one where those twin Iagos, Giamatti and Seymour Hoffman, had done more than worry in the wings.
Full Review | Original Score: 88/100
November 23, 2011
I'm so convinced that Clooney will eventually make his Huge, Important Film About American Politics that it's odd to me he's made this one: his small, entertaining film about American politics.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 23, 2011
As a portrait of power, hubris and the systematic corruption of integrity, The Ides of March makes for compelling viewing. It's well-crafted, wonderfully scored and solidly acted across the board.
November 23, 2011
A terrific political drama that growls with low tension and the cynicism of the disillusioned.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 22, 2011
Like the charming, inoffensive candidate with some great ideas and an impressive brains trust...[it's] more than capable of spouting some mildly-inspirational truisms about the nature of politics and looking good in a suit while saying them.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
November 20, 2011
se proideazei gia kati poly perissotero dramatiko kai epikindyno, kai to problhma ths einai oti de katafernei na to ylopoihsei
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 20, 2011
Engrossing, immensely relevant and completely timely, The Ides of March is a triumph for all concerned
November 20, 2011
A gripping political drama in which loyalty, principles and integrity tumble like a house of cards when betrayals alter perceptions
November 14, 2011
Wallows in fashionable cynicism
Page 2 of 12