The Ides of March - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Ides of March Reviews

Page 1 of 12
July 13, 2016
A well-told tale of filthy politics and betrayal; a virtuoso hat trick (writing, directing, and starring) by George Clooney. It almost makes you wish he'd stop acting and run for office.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 12, 2015
Why is this sleek, well-crafted movie almost impossble to get excited about?
June 30, 2013
A brilliant political thriller about strategy, loyalty and idealism that is willing to unmask candidates who build their campaigns on slogans, not policies.
Full Review | Original Score: 5.0/5
June 22, 2013
Well-produced and well-acted middlebrow entertainment, a political "expose" that will shock only pearl-clutchers and naive dopes.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
April 5, 2013
A gripping, political thriller packed with tremendous performances and supremely confident direction by George Clooney.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
February 11, 2013
George Clooney officially passes the impish matinee idol torch to Ryan Gosling in this smart, hella-cool (does Clooney waste his time on any other kind of movie these days?) political drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
January 6, 2013
George Clooney's latest civics lesson as actor and director, is a down and dirty politics-behind-closed-doors tale...brilliantly acted
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
September 19, 2012
If the film had been able to get off the ground earlier, this probably would have been a great film. However, with its excellent performances, well-written screenplay, and engaging story, it's still a very good film.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 25, 2012
The entire first two thirds of the film have the calm idiosyncratic qualities of a mellowed-out Mamet.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
March 22, 2012
Modern-day Game of Thrones
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 16, 2012
Like Clooney's straightforward and unflashy directorial style, The Ides of March proves to be an effective drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 7, 2012
"The Ides of March" is a solid film, but it could have been better if it challenged the audience more than it does.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
February 1, 2012
Full Review | Original Score: B+
January 4, 2012
It's clear the Ides of March is about the nuts and bolts of politics.
December 28, 2011
... A political thriller that concerns itself more with issues of loyalty and trust than advancing a particular agenda.
Full Review | Original Score: B
December 22, 2011
It's politics. How many times do we say that in our work lives or in reference to an organization with which we are involved?
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
December 16, 2011
Yet another fantastic performance from Ryan Gosling, in what has turned out to be his breakout year that elevates him to the top rank of actors.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 26, 2011
The twists and shocks of this story are delivered with emotional precision, each one landing like a heavy punch to the stomach, making every minute crackle with intensity.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 26, 2011
I'd strongly urge you to hand over a $10 donation and support The Ides Of March. It has my endorsement!
Full Review | Original Score: A-
November 25, 2011
I left the theater feeling I had gotten exactly what I'd expected, but wishing I'd seen a crazier movie, one where those twin Iagos, Giamatti and Seymour Hoffman, had done more than worry in the wings.
Full Review | Original Score: 88/100
Page 1 of 12