The Ides of March - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Ides of March Reviews

Page 1 of 12
Mark Jackson
Epoch Times
July 13, 2016
A well-told tale of filthy politics and betrayal; a virtuoso hat trick (writing, directing, and starring) by George Clooney. It almost makes you wish he'd stop acting and run for office.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Sean Burns
The Improper Bostonian
May 12, 2015
Why is this sleek, well-crafted movie almost impossble to get excited about?
John Hanlon
Big Hollywood
June 30, 2013
A brilliant political thriller about strategy, loyalty and idealism that is willing to unmask candidates who build their campaigns on slogans, not policies.
Full Review | Original Score: 5.0/5
Will Leitch
Deadspin
June 22, 2013
Well-produced and well-acted middlebrow entertainment, a political "expose" that will shock only pearl-clutchers and naive dopes.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Jeffrey Lyles
Lyles' Movie Files
April 5, 2013
A gripping, political thriller packed with tremendous performances and supremely confident direction by George Clooney.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Kristal Cooper
We Got This Covered
February 11, 2013
George Clooney officially passes the impish matinee idol torch to Ryan Gosling in this smart, hella-cool (does Clooney waste his time on any other kind of movie these days?) political drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Roger Moore
Tribune News Service
January 6, 2013
George Clooney's latest civics lesson as actor and director, is a down and dirty politics-behind-closed-doors tale...brilliantly acted
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Jeff Beck
Examiner.com
September 19, 2012
If the film had been able to get off the ground earlier, this probably would have been a great film. However, with its excellent performances, well-written screenplay, and engaging story, it's still a very good film.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Witney Seibold
CraveOnline
August 25, 2012
The entire first two thirds of the film have the calm idiosyncratic qualities of a mellowed-out Mamet.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Marty Mapes
Movie Habit
March 22, 2012
Modern-day Game of Thrones
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Steve Newall
Flicks.co.nz
February 16, 2012
Like Clooney's straightforward and unflashy directorial style, The Ides of March proves to be an effective drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
James Plath
Movie Metropolis
February 7, 2012
"The Ides of March" is a solid film, but it could have been better if it challenged the audience more than it does.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Nell Minow
Movie Mom at Yahoo! Movies
February 1, 2012
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
Ebert Presents At The Movies
January 4, 2012
It's clear the Ides of March is about the nuts and bolts of politics.
Greg Maki
Star-Democrat (Easton, MD)
December 28, 2011
... A political thriller that concerns itself more with issues of loyalty and trust than advancing a particular agenda.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Linda Cook
KWQC-TV (Iowa)
December 22, 2011
It's politics. How many times do we say that in our work lives or in reference to an organization with which we are involved?
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Phil Villarreal
OK! Magazine
December 16, 2011
Yet another fantastic performance from Ryan Gosling, in what has turned out to be his breakout year that elevates him to the top rank of actors.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Tim Martain
The Mercury
November 26, 2011
The twists and shocks of this story are delivered with emotional precision, each one landing like a heavy punch to the stomach, making every minute crackle with intensity.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Matthew Toomey
ABC Radio Brisbane
November 26, 2011
I'd strongly urge you to hand over a $10 donation and support The Ides Of March. It has my endorsement!
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
November 25, 2011
I left the theater feeling I had gotten exactly what I'd expected, but wishing I'd seen a crazier movie, one where those twin Iagos, Giamatti and Seymour Hoffman, had done more than worry in the wings.
Full Review | Original Score: 88/100
Page 1 of 12