The Kid Reviews

June 22, 2019
An above-average oater.
May 6, 2019
A notable western that sharply reformulates the legend of Billy the Kid. [Full Review in Spanish]
April 29, 2019
As much as the doomsayers insist, the western will never die. [Full review in Spanish]
April 29, 2019
A notable effort. [Full Review in Spanish]
March 21, 2019
THE KID is the first movie in some time that I have seen that makes good use of DeHaan's odd unsettling charisma.
March 13, 2019
'The Kid' is a solid, violent Western.
March 12, 2019
It's all pretty conspicuously average, but The Kid comes to life in its second half, when Hawke takes center stage. Unsurprisingly, he's the best thing in the movie by a country mile.
March 8, 2019
First-time director D'Onofrio has as an admirable visual style, whether we get medium-long-shot takes or intimate close-ups. This is a good-looking period piece film, percolating with top-tier performances.
March 8, 2019
The concept is promising, and D'Onofrio obviously has affection for the Western
March 8, 2019
The Kid examines [the power of legend] with some thoughtfulness.
March 8, 2019
Ethan Hawke and Dane DeHaan ride tall in Vincent D'Onofrio's fresh take on the saga of Pat Garrett and Billy the Kid.
March 8, 2019
Check out "The Kid" for some pleasant entertainment.
March 7, 2019
The first major Billy the Kid movie since Young Guns II, this rough, sturdy Western is unflinchingly brutal. But it also offers thoughtful ruminations on the nature of violence and its repercussions.
March 7, 2019
[An] absorbing, well-structured and superbly acted movie.
March 7, 2019
A modest, but well-down revisionist western.
March 7, 2019
We're allowed a peek behind the scenes to witness the emotional toll this lifestyle wrought and realize that what we do is sometimes secondary to what we learn.
March 7, 2019
An enjoyable and finely acted take on an oft-told story.
March 7, 2019
Ethan Hawke, Dane DeHaan and Chris Pratt -- cast against type -- shine in this sharply-detailed twist on an over-familiar Western tale.