The Killer Inside Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Killer Inside Me Reviews

Page 1 of 7
August 22, 2017
I found the novel more interesting than the film, which is a torturous, drawn-out affair.
June 22, 2013
The heralded "violent" scene practically screams "We need domestic distribution!" I don't think anyone in this movie actually likes this movie.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
March 10, 2012
The end result is an overlong adaptation that primarily comes off as a complete and total misfire...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
June 30, 2011
The Film Critic Inside Me ...
April 4, 2011
Affleck is great here.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 3, 2011
An excellent film which takes some big, brave steps in the crime genre...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 21, 2011
Jim Thompson's 1952 novel upon which this is based was supposedly unfilmable: perhaps that was the correct assessment.
January 3, 2011
This adaptation of Thompson's 1952 novel about a cunning, psychotic sheriff's deputy in a small Texas town locates the killer inside him and immerses us in the cold calculation and horrible logic that pull him from one murder to the next.
November 20, 2010
full review at Movies for the Masses
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
November 7, 2010
Casey Affleck delivers a chilling performance as a sociopathic deputy sheriff whose charming veneer shatters as we're introduced to his taste for violence of both the straight-up and sexual kinds.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 21, 2010
[Affleck's] commitment to such a vile character, even in spite of Winterbottom's occasionally questionable direction, displays a fearlessness that is rarely seen in cinema today.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
October 4, 2010
The violence is not shown in an ironic fashion. It's put front and center and is visceral in a way nothing else is in the film.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 21, 2010
Dark thriller centers on brutal violence against women.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 27, 2010
It's a credit to the British director that he's captured so much regional and class detail, but disappointing that his film's conclusions are almost banal, with a contrived finale that ties too many threads together.
August 26, 2010
It's Winterbottom's first entry into dark noir, and I think a more seasoned hand in the genre would have given Lou's horrible actions their proper moral weight.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 26, 2010
Viewers are invited to spend these torpid minutes burrowing into Lou's back story in search of reasons why he is off his rocker. But this is one movie psycho that defies all amateur psychoanalysis.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
August 26, 2010
Winterbottom's film is really rather down beat and hard to take. Perhaps that's only just so. Lou's heart of darkness takes us to a dead end. It's the kind of violent movie where you just want all the bloody mayhem to stop.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 25, 2010
It's a violent film about violence, but that makes it truthful.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 23, 2010
Sex and violence take centre stage in the enthralling, if a little overcooked crime thriller, The Killer Inside Me.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
August 23, 2010
This is compelling and challenging cinema, punctuated with genuinely shocking moments, by a director and a cast of actors who are right at the top of their game.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Page 1 of 7