The Killer Inside Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Killer Inside Me Reviews

Page 1 of 7
June 22, 2013
The heralded "violent" scene practically screams "We need domestic distribution!" I don't think anyone in this movie actually likes this movie.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
June 30, 2011
The Film Critic Inside Me ...
August 22, 2017
I found the novel more interesting than the film, which is a torturous, drawn-out affair.
June 3, 2010
Crucially, the film fails to coherently convey the fact that Lou is an unreliable narrator and that what he tells us might not be true, something that would help explain the characterisation of the women and distance the film from his view of them.
June 24, 2010
There is a point beyond which Lou's implacability brings diminishing returns. While I admire Affleck's performance, I believe Winterbottom and his writer, John Curran, may have miscalculated.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
June 30, 2010
Full of nice little touches, but somehow misses the mark when it comes to the big picture.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 9, 2010
Little, however, can save The Killer Inside Me from its worst impulses, its reveling in brute violence that makes it hard to watch and nearly impossible to admire, even though it's carefully crafted.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
June 24, 2010
Winterbottom was right to keep the light and compositions flat and bright and eerily sunny, no matter what sort of evilness Lou perpetrates. But the story should grow progressively more reckless-seeming and feverish; instead, it is methodical to a fault.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
July 15, 2010
Feminists, look away now.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
August 21, 2010
One dry patch of desert
June 7, 2010
The Killer Inside Me undoubtedly touches upon compelling subjects, but having done so, doesn't appear to know quite what to do next.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 1, 2010
David Lynch might have made something subversive out of these off-putting elements. Winterbottom has no idea what to do.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
June 9, 2010
Winterbottom has said that movie violence shouldn't be pretty. And, clearly, he's got a point. It's a pity then, given the director's bravado, that his film's flaws are basic.
June 24, 2010
Little more than torture porn tricked out in art-house finery.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
June 15, 2010
Skillful but aloof, unable to truly burrow into and reflect its protagonist's psychosexual madness.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
June 13, 2010
The result isn't drama so much as a waking nightmare of play-acting and predestined doom.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 26, 2010
Winterbottom's film is really rather down beat and hard to take. Perhaps that's only just so. Lou's heart of darkness takes us to a dead end. It's the kind of violent movie where you just want all the bloody mayhem to stop.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
June 17, 2010
No movie for old men, or any other demographic for that matter.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
August 20, 2010
A lethal brew of misogynistic, sadistic horrors, Michael Winterbottom's carefully crafted psychological noir thriller, as told from the point of view of a killer, is disturbing in the extreme
August 26, 2010
Viewers are invited to spend these torpid minutes burrowing into Lou's back story in search of reasons why he is off his rocker. But this is one movie psycho that defies all amateur psychoanalysis.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Page 1 of 7