The Lighthouse Reviews

Page 1 of 17
July 8, 2020
Dafoe is in full control of his craft, creating a performance for the ages. [Full review in Spanish]
June 27, 2020
It is a tense, concise and visually atmospheric film that manages to surprise me with the story of the two confined lighthouse keepers. [Full review in Spanish]
June 27, 2020
It's a bleak, esoteric and mind-bending trip to the edges of insanity, wrapped in a sobering study of the effects of isolation.
June 26, 2020
"The Lighthouse" begs for an immediate rewatch to unravel, unpack, and decipher, and it's certainly the kind of film that benefits from multiple viewings. Whether it all coheres or not is a topic I'm sure will be debated, but it's a spectacle to behold.
May 29, 2020
The Lighthouse is a dense piece of cinema that's hard to pin down with a simple four paragraph review, and is only complicated by the film's overlapping tone colors and pitch-black, meme worthy humor.
May 28, 2020
It was interesting.
May 27, 2020
Robert Eggers's sophomore effort takes us on a surreal down spiral tale, boosted by Pattinson and Daffoe's heart wrenching performances and some of the most disturbing imagery Horror has offered in the past couple of years.
May 4, 2020
...this is the cinematic equivalent of that seal throwing an octopus at a kayaker. I am the kayaker, the octopus is The Lighthouse, and Robert Eggers is the seal throwing it in my face saying, 'here, take this and enjoy it, you heathen'.
April 23, 2020
Robert Eggers throws you headfirst into the deep end of the late 19th century with every period detail (and fart) intact.
April 17, 2020
By the grace of Neptune, The Lighthouse is a must-see.
March 10, 2020
One of the biggest stumbling blocks to appreciating this film is its constant attempts to defy expectations and avoid definitions.
March 9, 2020
This movie was real weird... but we liked that.
February 28, 2020
Without Pattinson and Dafoe's increasingly riotous bickering, the movie would collapse under its own storm, but sure enough, they steer it through.
February 28, 2020
The Lighthouse may be challenging, it may even be off-putting, but it's gutsy, accomplished and the kind of movie that sears into your memory.
February 25, 2020
A disturbing study of traditional masculinity, a descent to madness and confusion, from the perspective of a character who can't always be trusted. [Full review in Spanish]
February 19, 2020
The Lighthouse is a horror movie done just the way I like them.
February 19, 2020
Insanity. Isolation. Weird sexual tension. Two fantastic actors. One unique filmmaker. [Full review in Spanish].
February 19, 2020
It's unsettling at times, yes, but also utterly mesmerising.
February 17, 2020
The Lighthouse is, at its squirmy core, one of the most uniquely deranged buddy movies to come out in quite some time.
February 14, 2020
The film is a head-scratching, exhilarating and just damned bonkers work that is richly singular in execution.
Page 1 of 17