The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring Reviews

Page 1 of 12
Top Critic
Richard Roeper
Ebert & Roeper
December 27, 2001
[I]t goes on forever.
Brian Orndorf
Modamag.com
December 19, 2001
Maybe it's too early to criticize the trilogy when we're just getting started. However, if this signals the direction the series is going to go, I'm not sure if I care to find out what happens to Frodo, Sauron and those pesky golden rings.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Top Critic
Jonathan Rosenbaum
Chicago Reader
March 5, 2008
It's full of scenic splendors with a fine sense of scale, but its narrative thrust seems relatively pro forma, and I was bored by the battle scenes.
Sean Burns
Philadelphia Weekly
December 22, 2001
It's a collection of spectacular set pieces without any sense of momentum driving them into one another. The damn thing just goes on and on.
Sean O'Connell
Eclipse Magazine
December 18, 2001
Endless close-ups of Wood's icy eyes and repeated zooms on the golden ring fail to draw us in to what's supposed to be a riveting quest.
Thomas Delapa
Boulder Weekly
September 23, 2004
It is imaginative, fierce, even thrilling in spots. Nevertheless, as the curtain comes down, the credits should read Game Over, not The End.
Daniel M. Kimmel
Worcester Telegram & Gazette
January 1, 2004
Everyone on screen is all exercised about Frodo's mission, but after three hours it's hard to see why anyone in the audience should be.
Full Review| Original Score: 2/5
Leah Rozen
People Magazine
November 18, 2013
All this plays like a giant game of Myst, with Ring's mythical characters never making the leap from virtual reality to real.
Jean Lowerison
San Diego Metropolitan
October 21, 2002
I hope the next two episodes are better.
Josh Gilchrist
Billings Outpost (Montana)
June 19, 2002
..I still came away empty, wanting more. I was expecting something that I could get lost in but instead found myself wading through some things that were less than satisfactory.
Jason Clark
Matinee Magazine
August 5, 2002
For all of its good choices, there's something deeply wanting about Jackson's vision
Alex Sandell
Juicy Cerebellum
December 20, 2001
It is remarkably well made . . . too bad it wasn't equally entertaining.
Blake French
NutzWorld
May 16, 2002
The only thing worse than a bad movie that thinks it is good is a three hour long bad movie that thinks it is good.
| Original Score: 2/4
David Sterritt
Christian Science Monitor
November 18, 2013
Oodles of technical talent are no substitute for plain old inspiration. Jackson has been working on the Rings project for years, and somewhere along the way his reverence for Tolkien appears to have intimidated his imagination.
Alexander Walker
London Evening Standard
December 10, 2001
The trouble is, much the same sort of battle-scene repeats itself every 20 minutes or so; only the environments and the monsters inhabiting them are changed. Technically wonderful? Yes, but oh so monotonous!
Ross Anthony
Hollywood Report Card
December 12, 2001
definitely an epic undertaking, long with intermittent brazen fight scenes
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Peter Bradshaw
Guardian
December 16, 2001
The Fellowship of the Ring resembles from certain angles nothing so much as a 178-minute electric mandolin solo.
David Elliott
San Diego Union-Tribune
December 18, 2001
The sights are ga-ga, but the storytelling gets fairly turgid.
Scott A. Mantz
Scott Mantz' Movie Reviews
January 4, 2002
I can't help it. I was just bored of the Rings.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Peter Rainer
New York Magazine/Vulture
January 22, 2002
Tolkien completists won't find any of this overkill, but for those uninitiates among us, less is more is still a dictum worth heeding.
Page 1 of 12