The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King Reviews

Page 1 of 14
December 16, 2003
Like all the other installments in the saga, The Return of the King is part of a good movie, but only mediocre on its own, full of awkward pauses and redundancies.
February 9, 2006
Some story strands are crudely abbreviated; others fail to develop elements that were already well-established.
January 5, 2004
Overlong, takes itself way too seriously and a case of much ado about nothing . . .
January 6, 2004
Eye-candy and grand events with no real substance.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 5, 2004
Almost nothing in this ultimate J.R.R. Tolkien episode rings true, least of all its empty spectacle of digital effects. The sum total is Two Towers and more of babel.
December 31, 2003
In spite of the fact that the film will likely bust box office records, this reviewer is duty bound to report that it fails in almost every aspect.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
December 17, 2003
Is a seriously flawed piece of work that is missing that certain element called "believability." It's visual eye candy without the chocolate center.
Full Review | Original Score: C
March 10, 2004
When we talk about Jackson's directorial style, what exactly are we talking about? The ability to juggle a production this size is a feat, but what else does he bring to it?
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
December 19, 2003
Take earplugs, food, maybe even No-doze if you plan a last foray to Middle-earth.
January 7, 2005
An incurable film until such time as Peter Jackson is moved to shorten its deadening coda
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 18, 2003
An uneven movie with yawns aplenty.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
December 16, 2003
I was more impressed by the first chapters, The Fellowship of the Ring and The Two Towers, on DVD than I was in theaters .... Back in a multiplex for No. 3, I felt blitz-bombed again.
December 26, 2003
The bad guys are, as usual, marked by incessant ugliness and vague non-whiteness.
February 13, 2004
It is precisely Jackson's pandering to fans' expectations that repeatedly drags The Return of the King to a halt.
November 19, 2013
In Return of the King, the battle for the very survival of Middle Earth and all its fantastical creations will be fought, and unless you are a congenital buzz-kill, you will feel the urgency, terror, and sweeping import of it all.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 5, 2005
Return of the King is a worthy addition to this already legendary series, tying up any loose ends with imaginative filmmaking and an all-star cast that deserves some recognition.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 18, 2003
King is ... the final touch of an undeniable masterwork.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
December 21, 2003
This is a glorious film and I gave my entire self to it whole-heartedly without reservation.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
December 17, 2003
The thrilling conclusion to what has become the film event of our time -- the definitive screen fantasy -- features more spellbinding moments, bigger battles, more emotion and more poetry than the terrific first two films in the trilogy.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 15, 2003
Here, in scenes of quiet emotion, devastating violence, sweeping chaos and tranquil hope,is a profound conclusion to an unforgettable trilogy-the best American trilogy ever made.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Page 1 of 14