The Lost Bladesman (Guan yun chang) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Lost Bladesman (Guan yun chang) Reviews

Page 2 of 6
September 25, 2011
Some of the fighting scenes are cool, but the messy plot and Donnie's "wooden" performance kill this picture.
deano
Super Reviewer
½ September 22, 2011
Hong Kong duo Felix Chong and Alan Mak take on the martial arts epic for the first time, adapting the story of Guan's (Donnie Yen) killing of six generals from historical novel Romance of the Three Kingdoms.
Current martial arts heavyweight Yen weilds Guan's famed guan dao blade to slay legions also admirably flexing his best stoic acting muscles.
Despite its aspirations (and predictably impressive fights), The Lost Bladesman never reaches the heights of Red Cliff or Hero, lacking the scale of the former and the emotional resonance of the latter.
½ September 22, 2011
Hong Kong duo Felix Chong and Alan Mak take on the martial arts epic for the first time, adapting the story of Guan's (Donnie Yen) killing of six generals from historical novel Romance of the Three Kingdoms.
Current martial arts heavyweight Yen weilds Guan's famed guan dao blade to slay legions also admirably flexing his best stoic acting muscles.
Despite its aspirations (and predictably impressive fights), The Lost Bladesman never reaches the heights of Red Cliff or Hero, lacking the scale of the former and the emotional resonance of the latter.
September 18, 2011
How can they make >"? a good guy? How come there is no ,(TM) & 1/4>? The action is good, story is ok, but the chararcters are empty. I think the guy who played >"? steal the show.
September 5, 2011
This is one of the episodes of the tale of Kuan Kung and Donnie Yen shines here along with the cast from China. Excellent fighting scenes.
September 5, 2011
Not sure how much facts were used for this movie but I liked the way it personalize the character of Guan. Of course, Donnie's great kung fu skills made the fighting scenes lovely to watch!. :-)
September 5, 2011
Couldnt get engaged. Lost me early on. But it was attractive filmmaking, but thr lack of action in a quite tiresome and slow dramatic narrative brought it to a snailpace and a chore to watch.
skactopus
Super Reviewer
½ August 29, 2011
The Lost Bladesman, from directors Felix Chong and Alan Mak, showcases everything it needs to, to be a worthwhile picture.Aside from an introductory soldier battle, the early going of this hour 40 minute production puts a lot of focus on laying out character relationships and story. In the grand scheme of things, this is needed; however, because there is a lot to unfold, things get a little smothering and also tiresome.The martial arts' sequences don't kick into high gear until deeper into the film. Backed by some strong choreography and a variety of settings, watching Donnie Yen wield a long-handled blade is a delight.Donnie Yen's portrayal of Guan Yu is a tad monotonous, at least for the dramatic pieces, but watching him in action tends to make up for that. Jiang Wen deserves praise for his performance as he handles a character that can be both perceived as a villain and a hero. Betty Sun is a sight for sore eyes as the only female with major minutes.Despite a few blemishes, The Lost Bladesman ends up as a promising period piece film out of China.
½ August 25, 2011
Not Donnies best movie.
2,5/5
½ August 20, 2011
(2011/08/20/Funshion)
½ August 17, 2011
He was essentially a wolf with the soul of a lamb

Guan Yu is a reluctant soldier that only wants the love of his clan brother's concubine and the respect of his countrymen. He finds that he has to serve with his brother in a revolutionary general's militia to stay in contact with his secret love. In serving in the revolutionary's militia, Guan finds that he has to slay his countrymen and has more blood on his hands than he desires. Is his secret love worth throwing his honor away?

"Better I do wrong than be wronged."

Felix Chong (Lady Cop & Papa Crook, Once a Gangster, and Overheard1 & 2) and Alan Mak (Infernal Affairs 1, 2, & 3) delivers The Lost Bladesman. The storyline for this picture is interesting and worth following but not as good as other films within this genre. The action scenes were solid and I enjoyed the battle sequences. The cast delivers worthwhile performances and includes Donnie Yen, Andy On, and Wen Jiang.

"Even a hero can be defeated by a beauty."

I am a huge Donnie Yen fan and try to see all of his pictures. I can say this is an entertaining movie but does not stand out in any particular area. The storyline is not as good as Musa, Curse of the Golden Flowers, or Warlords; the cinematography was not as good as Hero, Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon, or House of the Flying Daggers; and the battle sequences was not as good as Red Cliff I or II. This is an above average picture but is not a classic within the genre.

"Land I can lose. The morale of my men, never."

Grade: B-
August 15, 2011
Visuaalisesti hienon näköinen leffa ja onneksi vähän erilainen kuin tusina muuta samanlaista leffaa, mutta ei nyt kuitenkaan silti ainakaan vielä ekan katsomiskerran jälkeen ihan kauheasti säväyttänyt. Donnie Yen ja Jiang Wen ovat tietysti ihan loistavia.
August 6, 2011
I love Donnie Yen's acting but I find the movie ended too abruptly.
August 6, 2011
larguiiiisima, lenta, y no se, la historia de china como que no es mucho de mi interes por mas espadachines y madrazos que le metan :P
½ August 2, 2011
A nice (yet confusing) story to explain the politics around the 3 kingdoms way back when in the motherland.. with some pretty cool fight scenes to go along with it.. but it lacked a good plot, and some of the scenes were wayyy too over the top.. i mean how many times can a guy be stabbed, poisoned, beat up in one movie and still survive?? Wen Jiang is awesome in his support role tho.. almost worth the time just to watch him play his role... *almost*
DragonEyeMorrison
Super Reviewer
July 28, 2011
The script has it's ups and downs, Yen's acting is still on a limited range, but there has been some improvements. Good fight sequences, one in a water mill gets a bit sabotaged thanks to the poor use of light and shadow. The film has good pacing, it delivers what it promises.
½ July 27, 2011
Más que una pelicula de peleas, es una pelicula sobre las artimañas que ejercieron los antiguos líderes chinos durante las grandes guerras.
Si te gustan las historias puedes verla; pero sino te gusta mucho las narrativas y cortes sin sentido; mejor no pierdas el tiempo
July 27, 2011
The Lost Bladesman does not reach the dramatic heights of John Woo's Red Cliff but it offers a refreshing way to characterize heroes... The action sequences are good and should satisfy those looking for them. The character depictions may upset hard-core fans of the novel but are generally sensible and at times even inspired. The dialogue is clever... JIANG Wen, one of the best actors in China today, adds depth to Cao Cao... Donnie Yen who never disappoints in the action department has recently demonstrated that he can also act. In this movie, we see him face a new challenge of carrying, as said, the number one icon in China's historical figures. He has done a decent job but what he portrays is not quite what a lot of people visualize GUAN Yun-chang to be, from the first time they hear about this hero....... all in all is not a must-watch, though it will certainly appease action fans....
½ July 27, 2011
I knew this story as a romanticized game of 5 level and 6 bosses. This one is made like a mobster movie instead.
Page 2 of 6