The Love Witch Reviews

Page 1 of 6
July 24, 2019
The film is clearly fiercely personal and strikingly original, and Biller is every bit as dedicated to her passions and aesthetic as Wes Anderson.
June 4, 2019
A veritable orgy of sinful cinematic tropes, re-purposed and re-imagined for a new time by an artist working at the top of her game.
November 27, 2018
Anna Biller is writer, director, producer, editor and costume designer of this highly stylised, witty horror, and this single-minded vision means we get a depth of richness I've rarely seen elsewhere.
November 2, 2018
The Love Witch is sweet and provocative, proving an entertaining tribute to the films of the 60's and 70's, with fantastic performances and meticulous detail from multi-tasking director Anna Biller.
November 1, 2018
Everything about The Love Witch is intoxicating - the look, the sexuality, and the straight-faced delivery that underscores the hilarious confluence of text and subtext in the witty screenplay.
October 24, 2018
"The Love Witch" is one part Alejandro Jodorowsky, one part Elvira, with a smattering of "Sabrina the Teenage Witch" (aka my twelve-year-old fantasy come to life).
August 30, 2018
The dynamic between sexes is brilliantly worked.
August 27, 2018
Anna Biller's The Love Witch is one of the most brilliant horror films to come out in recent years and it has already become one of my all-time favorites.
August 25, 2018
A hilarious and pointed examination of sexuality through meticulous retro pastiche with some highly entertaining performances, The Love Witch revels in its blend of thoughtfulness with B-movie camp.
August 25, 2018
If you love artistic movies or strong aesthetic thriller horrors with a feminist aura, this one is definitely for you!
June 26, 2018
Elaine speaks of love magic and seduction, and Biller's film has the same enchanting effect on the audience.
November 18, 2017
Biller is a preternaturally gifted filmmaker whose unique formal approach is thoroughly in service to an intellectual worldview. From the first shot, The Love Witch announces its artifice.
September 12, 2017
The Love Witch counters the darkness of its black magic with an abundance of nostalgic camp and a high level of naked titillation.
July 18, 2017
At times wickedly funny and blunt, this film is as unique in its presentation as it is retro in style, with a magnetic lead character who takes us on a journey we are positive we've seen before, only as a reflection of a reflection.
July 13, 2017
Anna Biller's bravura slice of burlesque cinema is at once deliciously innovative and delectably old school.
July 4, 2017
The Love Witch it's fascinating thanks to Samantha Robinson. The actress ends up creating a model monster: irreparably broken, and doomed to never get what she wants. [Full review in Spanish]
June 30, 2017
Anna Biller has made the most visually captivating retro film of recent years. [Full review in Spanish]
May 4, 2017
... like Burn, Witch, Burn or Hammer's The Witches colliding with a Doris Day sex comedy in the free love hippie culture, all existing in a bubble of sixties style and attitude that is somehow intact in modern day North Coast California.
April 1, 2017
Biller's challenge of the surface dares us to be mesmerised without being beguiled, and to parse the realm of female agency without demonising its contradictions.
March 17, 2017
I think it's one of the most interesting, captivating movies I've seen in years, and I look forward to dissecting its lovely, twisted, romantic genius in future viewings.
Page 1 of 6