The Nines - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Nines Reviews

Page 1 of 3
October 4, 2008
It defies categorisation, which I love, and defies logic, which is very European. But it's also clever, funny and compelling
September 30, 2008
An interesting, if high minded, concept film that is nothing without its performers.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 27, 2008
The sort of movie that would probably appeal to Ryan Reynolds' detractors . . .
April 16, 2008
August may be peddling some absurd New age "secret", but at least it allows him the benefit of stronger and more coherent storytelling.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
February 8, 2008
Em sua estréia como diretor de longas, August faz jus à inteligência de seu roteiro intrincado, criando uma história tensa e instigante que surpreende tanto como ficção quanto como reflexão metafísica/religiosa. Além disso, o elenco revela-se fortíssimo.
| Original Score: 4/5
January 22, 2008
When I read that Ryan Reynolds was playing not one, but three characters in this movie -- one of whom is gay -- my ticket pretty much bought itself. They had me at 'himbo'.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
January 16, 2008
Overall, I responded to The Nines as a sly Cronenbergian chess game of the mind. As impenetrable as it becomes, it's easy to perceive that this is straight-from-the-heart work from August.
Full Review | Original Score: B
November 30, 2007
Let's avoid such extremes, and note merely that he's made a film that's funny ha-ha as well as funny peculiar; an exercise in navel-gazing that tickles all the senses.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 30, 2007
Definitely worth a look.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 30, 2007
There are plenty of surprises in this amusing Donnie Darko-ish metaphysical thriller, but watching Van Wilder and Blade: Trinity star Ryan Reynolds flex some previously hidden acting chops is the main one.
November 30, 2007
It is pretty familiar material in some ways, and not exactly unpretentious, but very watchable.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 30, 2007
The film puts a delightful spin on that profound and solipsistic idea that we are the godlike inventors, and moral arbitrators, of our own little worlds. A gem.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 30, 2007
An amusing journey through the nature of reality with a bit of Hinduism thrown in that sadly collapses into new-age nonsense towards the end.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 30, 2007
Overly gimmicky and ultimately frustrating it may be, but at its best The Nines feels like a triple-bill of 'Twilight Zone' episodes written by Charlie Kaufman - creepy, oddball and clever.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
November 30, 2007
Sometimes a product's creative integrity requires that it not quite attain a ten - but when it comes to the cinema of big ideas, The Nines is as close to divine perfection as you are likely to get.
November 29, 2007
With McCarthy and Davis also playing two further roles with suspiciously identical initials, The Nines toys with issues of identity, duality and alternate reality certain to appeal to anyone who's experimented with the virtual avatars of Second Life.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 29, 2007
Absorbing, mind-bending and thoroughly engaging mystery thriller with a superb script and terrific performances from its three leads.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 28, 2007
An intriguing post-modern take on TV, film and gaming culture, with a revelatory performance from the former Van Wilder.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 17, 2007
With an almost Donnie Darko sense of apocalyptic mystery, writer-director August really gets our heads spinning.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
September 8, 2007
The Nines is a movie that aims to raise more questions than it answers.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 3