The Number 23 - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Number 23 Reviews

Page 1 of 10
March 24, 2007
Good God, I actually liked this screwball of a mystery thriller.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.75/5
February 26, 2007
More entertaining than most of the movies nominated for an Oscar this year.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 26, 2007
I don't care what anybody else says. The acting was good and the script was complelling. So there!
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
February 26, 2007
I enjoyed it a lot. I haven't heard of anyone else who has.
February 23, 2007
Carrey owns this movie. He's in virtually every scene, and there's no taking one's eyes from him.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 23, 2007
Jim Carrey makes for an unlikely but completely effective lead choice. He brings a nice touch of comic irony to his otherwise serious role, impressively handling a wide range of emotions as an ordinary Joe caught in an extraordinary web.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
February 23, 2007
Newcomer Fernley Phillips' screenplay eventually binds itself into too tight a knot. But it also has some admirable ambitions about family, responsibility, memory.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 23, 2007
Carrey skillfully leads us on a twisted trek with hair-raising jolts.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
February 22, 2007
While The Number 23 is probably not destined for masterpiece status, it does what it sets out to do: entertain, and mess with your mind.
February 22, 2007
Number 23 is a modest, well-executed film. Is it scary? Not exactly. But if you're willing to settle for mildly creepy, then you're in luck.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 22, 2007
There's enough style, intrigue and plot twistiness in this thriller to keep us watching
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
February 21, 2007
By the end, you'll want to stick around, if only to crack the Jim Carrey code: Is he a real actor after all, or is the rabid urgency with which he keeps trying to be the most real thing about him?
Full Review | Original Score: B-
February 20, 2007
I can say I was never bored with The Number 23...so I guess that's a good sign that it works as a piece of entertainment if nothing else.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 20, 2007
Genuinely intriguing in places and romps along at a satisfying pace for a conspiracy thriller.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 20, 2007
Things don't really add up in The Number 23, but you can count on some queasy chills and trashy thrills all the same.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 3, 2012
As far as psychological thrillers go, The Number 23 is a little too much 'psycho' and not enough 'logical'.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
December 15, 2010
Absurd, dark, and a miscast Jim Carrey. Yuck.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
July 6, 2010
As Walter's/Fingerling's paranoia grows, the viewer is irritatingly yanked back and forth between the real and imagined settings, and left to decide which one is more ridiculous.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
August 27, 2009
Nothing to decipher here
April 23, 2009
There is something to this 23 stuff, and a film about apophenia (obsession with random connections) would be fascinating. But no.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Page 1 of 10