The Nun Reviews

Page 1 of 3
June 5, 2019
Given the film's talent, and the inventive, subepidermal shocks of its forebears The Nun is a hollow affair.
March 2, 2019
The Nun is dripping with Gothic Horror goodness, doesn't take itself too seriously, and watching it feels *almost* like you're watching a classic Hammer Horror flick.
February 12, 2019
Why all the strange things, the vision, the nonsense? That said, I'm kind of here for it. I'm pretty happy with what I got, and if you're looking for a wild time at the movies, might I recommend The Nun...
November 25, 2018
A solid addition to this long-running series.
November 5, 2018
It's nuns amok in this bleak, deeply cliched yet effective supernatural spookster.
November 1, 2018
The film boasts strong performances and some of the most striking visuals of any film in The Conjuring universe. What it lacks is fully developed characters and a complete story that connects well to the other films in the franchise
November 1, 2018
Sets out to build a different energy from the rest of the movies in "The Conjuring" franchise, and for better and for worse, it accomplishes that.
October 11, 2018
Old school jump scares and perhaps one of the best new monsters we've had in a long time.
September 19, 2018
It was great to see The Conjuring Universe expanded.
September 19, 2018
A catalogue of horror sensations. [Full Review in Spanish]
September 17, 2018
Those who like old-fashioned Hammer horrors will certainly get a kick out of this movie, which brims with Gothic atmosphere but has no discernible plot.
September 16, 2018
The film is madly in love with the idea of old-school matinee movie horror.
September 14, 2018
Unfortunately, it's all so routine and repetitive that it soon loses even that appeal.
September 13, 2018
Along with solid staging and the right actors, The Nun at least ensures that viewers will not get bored for 97 minutes. [Full review in Spanish]
September 11, 2018
While The Nun has some issues with tone and pacing, especially in the first half of the film, once the story settles in for the finale, that's when Hardy's love for the genre shines through.
September 10, 2018
It still works as a stand-alone film, I appreciate that.
September 10, 2018
What it lacks, it makes up in great set designs and frightening tension; definitely a fun addition to the franchise!
September 8, 2018
There's an obvious attempt at delivering something slightly more mature than what we normally see in studio-released horror films.
September 8, 2018
Even if you don't have any relationship with religion, the film challenges what you are familiar with, whatever that may be, and succeeds at startling you to the core.
September 7, 2018
It successfully gives you the feeling that you're being ushered through an especially well designed haunted house - but by forgettable characters.
Page 1 of 3