The Nun - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Nun Reviews

Page 1 of 9
February 8, 2019
It's a pity that the storyline is so weak, given that Bichir and Farmiga both give excellent performances.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 19, 2018
The Nun winds up being a mash-up that's far more dead than alive.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/10
December 26, 2018
En vez de ver La monja, sólo vean las dos escenas en las que aparece en El conjuro 2. Seguro eso los asusta más.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/ 10
February 18, 2019
It's not hard to imagine why they thought this was a good idea. A franchise driven sequel that fails horribly in the art of the scare. [Full review in Spanish].
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
December 6, 2018
The jump-scares are dispensed with a kind of clockwork disregard for the broader drama or stakes; like sugary morsels of adrenaline, they're momentarily titillating but ultimately unsatisfying.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
November 1, 2018
Lacking anything that resembles compelling characters with actual arcs, The Nun fails that critical first test of the movies: investing the audience in the plight of its heroes.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
October 31, 2018
The gothic horror setting is delectable, but this is far from the Holy Grail of spin-offs. Could we not have had Sister Act 3 instead?
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 29, 2019
I can't say this is going to be the type of film that you'll want to plan your weekend for. At the very best, a discounted matinee watch would be the route to go, or feel free to wait for it to land on a streaming platform.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
October 29, 2018
With boring, cliched attempts of mythology, an underused cast, tedious pacing and hilariously forced attempts at scares and humour, the audience is better off having "nun" of it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 20, 2018
The Nun is one silly "nun-sensical" roller coaster ride of jump scares.
October 15, 2018
A Sunday visit to church would likely be more terrifying.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 10, 2018
This lackluster horror flick won't convert any new prophets
Full Review | Original Score: C-
September 10, 2018
Every cheap scare in the book is in this movie.
September 10, 2018
I didn't like the main actor, or at least, I couldn't hear half of what he was saying because of the accent. A lot of the dialogue was very hokey to me.
September 10, 2018
I didn't really care about the characters [and] the story didn't draw me in.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
December 8, 2018
Right off the top I will say that it is not a fantastic film, but there are some creepy moments scattered throughout. Enough so that you will endure through the rest which is quite substandard.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
September 7, 2018
They just keep repeating the same scare over and over... and it's over an hour and a half.
September 7, 2018
I love a good spooky castle... but I thought that there would have been more to this creature... besides somebody that just breathes on people.
September 8, 2018
"The Nun" is sometimes bad, but mostly disappointing. Potential and a good jumping off point proved too high a bar to meet.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 9, 2018
Those wanting pure scares will have a blast with The Nun. However, those that like fleshed out characters & story alongside their scares will be very disappointed.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Page 1 of 9