The Queen of Versailles - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Queen of Versailles Reviews

Page 1 of 6
July 27, 2012
A tragicomic indulgence of schadenfreude with the sophistication of a Kardashian reality show.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 21, 2012
If the film intends to show that any of the Siegels have gained any wisdom from hardship, we don't see it.
August 22, 2012
It contains some useful information, I suppose, but I did not like these people, I hope never to meet them, and I wonder if the world wouldn't be a better place without them.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 20, 2012
The Queen of Versailles will prompt loathing not only among the so-called 99 Percent, but among those in the top 1 percent who would like someone more sane to represent them on camera.
July 17, 2012
Every cutaway to their McDonald's takeout bags or fluffy white puppies (there must be a dozen of them) emphasizes a bedrock tackiness that will convert your audience into a snorting gang of Marxists-at least for a while.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 19, 2012
I feel contempt for my contempt for these people. Whether that's my problem or the film's, I'm not entirely sure, but I'm leaning toward blaming Greenfield.
May 26, 2013
Humanizes the upper one percent in a 100-percent entertaining way.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
August 24, 2012
If you get some kind of sick kick watching the mighty take a fall, The Queen of Versailles will be nothing short of a schadenfreudic ball.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
July 27, 2012
A well-told tale about having to atone for sins of the sub-prime era.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
June 20, 2012
This honesty and heart is what makes The Queen of Versailles so compelling.
Full Review | Original Score: A
July 27, 2012
The result is a rich portrait.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.2/10
September 6, 2012
Greenfield's film is bathed in Florida sunshine, adding to the sensation that we're watching Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous with a Marxist punchline.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 6, 2012
Prepare to be shocked, disgusted and compelled.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 22, 2013
Strangely entertaining and revealing documentary about a culture obsessed with money and people aspiring to a life they can't afford. Greed is good once again if you can borrow enough money to consume all you desire. Mind the debt gap.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 17, 2012
Lauren Greenfield's film evolves from an ode to entitled obliviousness to a more evenhanded character study, tracing the fault lines that develop within the Siegel family.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 1, 2012
Illuminating, oddly hilarious, ceaselessly watchable.
September 5, 2012
In the end, these are human beings, not emblems - and it is this that makes this documentary one of the most watchable, for rich and poor alike.
July 18, 2012
With every shopping spree, every limo ride to McDonald's, Mrs. Siegel underlines the cliche that money cannot buy you taste. Or class.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 21, 2012
Watching Jackie fill cart after Walmart cart with crap the family doesn't need is to witness the new millennium's version of Marie Antoinette.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
September 10, 2012
One of the great unsayable truths about the American dream is that it is a bit of a Ponzi scheme ... our system admits a glimmer of hope that anyone, no matter how lowborn, can rise to the top.
Full Review | Original Score: 87/100
Page 1 of 6