The Sapphires - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Sapphires Reviews

Page 3 of 32
November 22, 2014
I can't believe we waited so long to see this fun, heartwarming, musically great movie! Me and my (very particular) husband highly recommend it!
½ November 13, 2014
Great story, great acting and entertaining as hell!
November 2, 2014
Nah! Not convincing at all.
½ October 4, 2014
Chris O'Dowd is a funny dude. The movie is satisfyingly entertaining.
½ September 29, 2014
Your typical, feel-good film festival fodder.
September 19, 2014
Fun, stereotypical, new music group in a prejudice era trying to be discovered movie.
September 14, 2014
Great feel-good movie!
½ September 4, 2014
The year is 1969. After meeting a charming Irish drunk at a small town talent competition, three aborigine sisters form a soul girl group with a girl from their childhood, enter and win a competition to entertain American troops in Vietnam.
During their tour they learn a great deal about each other and themselves. Relationships are formed and tested all to a cracking soul soundtrack.
The story may be well trodden, but the setting makes the racial subtext quite emotive and the talented cast make it a very likable and believable tale. An easy one to get swept up in and a joy to watch.
½ July 29, 2014
Thought it was very interesting. Based on a true story.
July 23, 2014
Solid movie, with some great music, Deborah mailman is fantastic
July 17, 2014
This is a fun lovable hard to hate movie. Its even better if you like 60's Motown music. I never get sick of those Australian accents. Besides a poorly done over the top war scene it was a good film.
Super Reviewer
July 15, 2014
Even those who are not easily moved by a fairly conventional and predictable movie like this one will have plenty to enjoy in such a poignant feel-good story full of great performances and beautiful singing voices about a group of Aboriginal women and their musical talent.
July 6, 2014
This film is about music, but also explores issues of racial prejudice and discrimination.

The acting performances are good, too.
July 6, 2014
Good Australian movie, very original. A must watch

4 Stars!
½ June 29, 2014
Decent moving. Awesome sound track.
June 25, 2014
The music and story were well done and you got a real sense of how the aboriginal people in Australia were treated in the 1960s. I highly recommend this movie.
.
June 19, 2014
It's a delightful movie with a great cast. Charming from the get go, it rarely devolves into outright hokeyness. It's great to see the time period, the war, and race issues viewed from the perspectives of non-Americans. The struggles that people of color have to go through in Australia. After watching the movie I was interested to read up on what became of the real-life singes this movie was based on. It was great to see how much of a real difference these girls, now women, made after their musical career. It was fun, heartbreaking, and wonderfully entertaining. An absolute must-see!
½ June 14, 2014
Not bad but isn't going to win any awards either.
June 12, 2014
While based on a true story, it really glamorizes these ladies trip through modest fame. That being said, it is a very entertaining movie and I enjoyed it.

Chris O'Dowd is one of those actors that always seems to bring up the level of any movie he is in, kind of like Jane Lynch does for the films/shows she is in. They just make them better.

Jessca Mauboy has a great voice and sings the old soul songs like they should be sung.
½ June 11, 2014
Very Good!!!! The music was alright. Good True Story Though.
Page 3 of 32