The Sessions - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Sessions Reviews

Page 2 of 66
April 28, 2015
Warm and funny, The Sessions seems at first to make a little too light of the terrible circumstances of its main character, but through stunning performances by Helen Hunt and John Hawkes, we begin to understand this remarkable man who used humour to keep himself going in life.
March 31, 2015
A strange film filled with awkwardness and some dark humour but is always heartwarming and real.
March 15, 2015
An incredible movie that manages to joke on a topic usually considered taboo and/or very embarassing to talk about. John Hawkes (but also Helen Hunt) is amazing in his role, he perfectly enter in the character, you can see it for the entire lasting of the movie. Not full of the good and cheesy feelings you could expect from a movie based on a paraplegic.
½ March 12, 2015
beautiful little story, much more touching and sensitive than i would expect from a story revolving around sex. one of the best of the current decade.
February 27, 2015
More of a chick-flick than a man-movie. My other half liked this, but to me it was pretty one dimensional. Not a bad watch, just not worth every minute.
February 17, 2015
Well acted and moving throughout, The Sessions is one the best films of 2012.
½ February 6, 2015
Delizioso. Helen Hunt brava e nuda senza volgaritŕ.
½ February 1, 2015
The plot may sound simplistic and just another Hollywood excuse to use sex to sell a movie, but it is nothing like that. The realm of sexual release with disabled people is real enough and this breaches the topic, but is also much more. The heart of it is the emotions the few women in his life feel for him and what he feels for them. The cast handles the unique story perfectly and make it real and its relationships thought provoking and meaningful.
½ January 24, 2015
Poignant. I cried for a half hour after this one touched my soul
December 28, 2014
It's hard not to cry, not to feel, not to love after watching this amazing movie.
December 18, 2014
Oscar worthy and capable of handling its delicate and taboo filled subject matter
½ December 13, 2014
Interesting and sweet story, great acting!
The Gandiman
Super Reviewer
November 30, 2014
"The Sessions" is an engrossing drama about sex with amazingly fearless performances from John Hawkes and Helen Hunt, in a career-best performance.
November 17, 2014
Es muy humana, intensa, real. Es el típico tipo de películas que te tocan. Aunque el parecido con otras (del mismo tema) es evidente, la recomiendo. Muy buena.
½ November 13, 2014
John Hawkes is always so good
October 14, 2014
Amar, intimidad, que bonita manera de tratar la cotidianidad y la excepcionalidad de una persona. Maravillosas actuaciones.
October 9, 2014
Though Oscar buzz has been circling Helen Hunt for her strong and fearless portrayal as Cheryl, a sex surrogate assisting in allowing disabled Mark O'Brien to experience all matters of sex with the opposite gender, as good as Helen's performance is, John Hawkes' flawlessly portrays a dry-witted, lifelong Polio victim struggling to balance his religious teachings with the natural desire to have sex. His humor and writing style bring a very palm-under-the-chin type of viewing that demands attention. The story is told very sweetly with meaningful dialogue and touching situations, even to its sad ending, which is still humorously narrated by Mark until the last line.
September 20, 2014
Not your usual type of movie but it proved to be heartfelt and true in its viewing.
September 16, 2014
well acted but I am not sure the story deserved such great actors. seems to try to shock more than entertain
September 12, 2014
an excellent and moving film. profoundly human...
Page 2 of 66