The Shack - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Shack Reviews

Page 1 of 3
May 26, 2017
The Shack is an honest consideration of a Christian theological explanation for why bad things happen to good people. If you loved the book, I think you will be able to say the film surpasses it.
March 20, 2017
The Shack successfully manages to challenge the narrow conceptions of what a Christian looks or sounds like - hence all of the debate and controversy.
March 9, 2017
Intrigue and Mystery
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 8, 2017
In this case, religion shouldn't be a deciding factor on whether or not you give this film a chance.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
March 3, 2017
Regardless of which path you come at it by, it's a cleverly told lesson of love and forgiveness, and the most appealing movie sermon I've seen in years.
March 3, 2017
Sentimental faith-based adaptation explores grief, healing.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 2, 2017
I don't like Christian movies but this is a good one. Best Christian movie ever.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
March 2, 2017
Its idea that God loves us enough to reach out to every one of us in our the way we are best able to understand is genuinely touching.
Full Review | Original Score: B
March 2, 2017
This is a faith-based movie that uses a heavy hand to pound viewers with its religious messages. That's a shame because when the film isn't preaching, the story of how someone deals with great loss is touching and moving.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 17, 2017
The Christian God is rarely shown figuratively in movies, and The Shack is a good example of why not.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
April 8, 2017
The Shack will appeal to those who like Christian cinema and put the theme above the technical attributes. [Full review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
April 5, 2017
British director Stuart Hazeldine cranks up the digital effects to give a fairly interesting interpretation of heaven, but they cannot make up for how this is a sermon, turned into a play, dressed up with computer-aided show-and-tell.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
March 9, 2017
This one nevertheless falls short, thanks to the plodding direction of Stuart Hazeldine, who also lets Worthington engage in the kind of mumbling whisper that some actors mistake for intensity.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 9, 2017
To the film's credit is its willingness to dip into the deep end of dark matters instead of shying away from harsh truths and hard-earned faithlessness. Still, The Shack plods toward the Almighty - even when its characters are walking on water.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
March 7, 2017
Insipid
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
March 6, 2017
If Octavia Spencer is God, then Lord, take me to church.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 3, 2017
It's one of those movies where you'll either decide to give in right away and sob for two hours straight or opt to fight it while your resentment slowly simmers to a rolling boil.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
March 3, 2017
At times The Shack is able to provoke real thought and introspection. But as a movie, it struggles with issues of structure and execution, which no doubt happened in the book-to-film transition.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 3, 2017
Its copious amounts of cinematic flaws actually render it borderline incoherent and an absolute chore to sit through.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
March 3, 2017
The constant reminders that everything is going to be alright, and that we should not worry our pretty little heads about why evil is allowed to exist, has a distinctly condescending tone that for all the noble speeches leaves a sour aftertaste.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Page 1 of 3