The Shape of Water - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Shape of Water Reviews

Page 1 of 19
September 19, 2017
Rather than engaging with the genre in a meaningful way, [Guillermo] del Toro's film is boring, broad, and unoriginal, without any magic or charm.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/10
December 23, 2017
The film is the equivalent work of an artist, who, though beginning with a solid, well-rounded image...just didn't allow it to find the proper balance. In the end, perhaps The Shape of Water's ambition just exceeded its grasp.
December 1, 2017
But with all its grandeur and charm, the fact that this is a love story between a woman and a monster is too ridiculous to ignore.
December 14, 2017
Director Guillermo del Toro (Pan's Labyrinth) has an expansive imagination, but his limitations as a storyteller have created a film that is beautiful but cluttered, visionary but formulaic.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 15, 2018
I felt nothing for the characters which makes the premise of rooting for the misunderstood a moot point.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 26, 2018
The progressive agenda wins the Oscar! Love that! Wait, nope-I draw the line at interspecies carnality. When protesting persecution and lauding universal love, at least pick a metaphor not as universally reviled as bestiality. It's not twee, it's gross.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
January 9, 2018
Del Toro's typically lusty visuals and the impressive mix of practical and computer-enhanced effects that comprise his fish-man smother the would-be intricacies of his drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
January 11, 2018
What I can't forgive is how static and simplistic these characters are [...] With no ambiguity, there's nothing for my brain to do except passively watch these soggy characters as they wade to a predictable, saccharine conclusion.
December 15, 2017
The Shape of Water is whimsical, boldly original, defiantly weird, occasionally grotesque, and beautifully shot...yet, despite all of that, the film didn't quite work for me.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 19, 2018
If we can't believe in the characters, how are we supposed to care?
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 4, 2018
Effectively a remake of Ron Howard's Splash with the first act excised.
December 26, 2017
The movie's worldview is as easy to like as the protagonist and her friends, but del Toro lays it on so thick that there's no room for counterargument or even independent thought.
November 29, 2017
The Shape of Water has been made with a level of craftsmanship that should be the envy of most filmmakers, but the impudent, unruly streak that so often gives del Toro's films their pulse has been airbrushed away.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
December 8, 2017
Beautifully shot, designed, and acted but dramatically inert.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 13, 2018
Often morose, it livens up when Shannon is tasering the fishman or engaged in bloodletting and beatings. It is a kind of horror movie, it's true, but those scenes overpower the film's invocation of desperate forbidden love.
January 14, 2018
For all its many accomplishments, the film falls a little short. I am not often enough moved by the film, and not entirely engaged to let it flow through my subconscious, as perhaps intended.
February 13, 2018
From the world's most over-rated A-list director, Guillermo del Toro, comes yet another visually distinctive, tonally flat work of glum fantasy...As usual, Del Toro's acolytes have promptly fallen into line praising this overlong pseudo sci-fi pap.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
December 3, 2017
[A] labored attempt at a gentle fairy tale.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
December 26, 2017
The thematic masochism is intrinsic to del Toro's art - miserably picking the scab of one's self-esteem. But the architecture here is too cardboard, despite a high level of craft among the cast, to make us feel the pain, too.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 30, 2017
...the nicest way I can describe it is E.T., phone Harlequin.
Page 1 of 19