The Skin I Live In - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Skin I Live In Reviews

Page 1 of 9
May 9, 2016
In Almodovar's world, the flesh is deception, the comedy dark, the sex weird and the tears real; this time, however, the director just wasn't able to pull off all of these elements.
October 7, 2015
"The Skin I Live In" fails because it doesn't have a moral or anything else to say in spite of its self-seriousness.
November 5, 2013
Almodóvar has a body of work as rigorously personal as any out there, and, even with its flaws, he wears this latest Skin rather well.
July 1, 2013
Despite the typically invigorating sense of line and framing, The Skin I Live In withholds the director's customary satisfactions and affirmations. The result is a saga of obsession that, in its saturnine undertone, maintains a hard-to-enjoy integrity.
June 23, 2013
This is a lush, deeply pleasurable film to experience on a sensory level; Almodovar couldn't produce a boring frame if he left the lens cap on.
Full Review | Original Score: B
March 2, 2013
Pedro Almodovar's The Skin I Live In, a terrific, twisty thriller that is one of the filmmaker's best and one of the year's best films.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
December 28, 2012
It's as disquieting as it is unsatisfying, a slog through gender issues, surgery and violence - sexual and otherwise.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 25, 2012
A movie puzzle that confounds and then unnerves with an impact as shocking as any of the most infamous of cinema last-reel shockers
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 15, 2012
I was agonising over every twist and turn. I was shuffling in my seat. I was feeling physical reactions to the scenes and quite simply I was impressed with Banderas' strikingly nuanced performance under the incredible direction of Almodóvar.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
April 6, 2012
Leave it to Pedro Almodovar to figure a uniquely twisted way to unsettle.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 3, 2012
With a deliberately preposterous storyline involving burning bodies, evil brothers, rape, suicide, revenge, sexual identity and medical procedure, this is darkly comic arthouse soap - with a tinge of horror - and definitely an acquired taste.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
March 15, 2012
High-art pulp: brazenly kitschy, elegantly creepy, patently ludicrous.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 9, 2012
There are two iron wills in this movie. What's shocking is the lengths that each character goes to. A seriously campy tone almost undercuts the seriousness of the story, and it has its fair share of uncomfortable and shocking laughs.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
March 9, 2012
With The Skin I Live In, Almodovar adopts a playfully wicked attitude, similar to the one James Whale used on Bride of Frankenstein.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
February 19, 2012
Although snubbed by the Oscar machine, "The Skin I Live In" is a solid drama-thriller that offers the best contemporary take on the Frankenstein tale that I've seen in a long while.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
February 16, 2012
Almodóvar returns to his horror roots
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
January 13, 2012
Not since David Cronenberg have surgery, sex and violence frolicked in the same stained bed so skillfully.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
January 13, 2012
Almodovar has delivered another transformative work that finds his queer sensibility in high, thrilling gear.
January 12, 2012
This is a horror story only Almodovar could conjure. It's filled with his style of melodrama and love for the disenfranchised, not to mention a seedy undercurrent that is sure to turn off some. A film for strong minds and sturdy hearts.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
January 3, 2012
Combines enough that's genre-friendly and accessible with the trademark style of a truly unique and "artsy" filmmaker.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Page 1 of 9