The Skin I Live In - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Skin I Live In Reviews

Page 2 of 9
December 22, 2011
The Skin I Live In certainly puts the ! in ALMODOVAR! The Spanish auteur's latest film is particularly melodramatic, bizarre, and visually sumptuous, even by his already heightened standards.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 22, 2011
A mix of creepy horror and seductive melodrama, The Skin I Live In reveals its secrets gradually.
December 21, 2011
I don't want to give too much away but this unsettling tale is told so beautifully, so precisely.
Full Review | Original Score: A
December 17, 2011
Almodóvar plugs us into a whirlpool of emotional constructs which turbo charge the story
December 17, 2011
Bizarre, shocking, sexy and dark, this is Almodóvar at his brilliant melodramatic best
December 16, 2011
"Skin" doesn't cut as deep as Almodovar's best films, and the ending borders on generic melodrama. But as an elegantly nasty genre exercise, it raises goose bumps on your own skin.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
December 12, 2011
What's missing here is Almodovar's most distinguishing characteristic: compassion.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
December 9, 2011
When it's all said and done, there's no real call for any emotional investment on the part of Almodovar's audience.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 1, 2011
Even a second level Almodovar is better than most other people.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 1, 2011
It's not one of Almodovar's more emotionally involving films, it's actually quite chillingly cold but Antonio Banderas is just fabulous as the Frankenstein character and Elena Anaya is exquisite as his creation.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 1, 2011
Pedro Almodovar's latest outrage against propriety is a body horror comedy, a sort of mash-up of the work of David Cronenberg and The Rocky Horror Picture Show
Read More | Original Score: 89/100
November 27, 2011
Gran parte de la película se pasa entre la incredulidad, la indiferencia y el ridículo, pero Almodóvar es ante todo Almodóvar, con todos sus excesos, sus delirios y también sus aspectos originales (...)
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 23, 2011
It will almost certainly be in the top two or three on my 'best of 2011' list, and it's a film I can't wait to see again.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
November 23, 2011
A wonderfully twisted cinematic expedition into territory rarely traveled.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
November 23, 2011
Few filmmakers are more assured or alluring, even when we fear we're following a monster.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 20, 2011
Skin satisfies even next to [Almodóvar's] masterpieces ... In the latter films he uses sensationalism to arrive at meditations on passion and humanity's search for it. Yet, his films that approach the territory are always a delight.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
November 20, 2011
o Almodóvar apofasise oti an aplws kanei allh mia epideiksh eksairetikoy sthsimatos kai xrwmatismatos ths alloprosallhs paletas toy, xrhsimopoiwntas ton thrileriko aksona toy biblioy, tha ebgaze allh mia xronia stis Kanes
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
November 19, 2011
It says something for Almodovar's skill as a filmmaker that he can still jolt viewers after three and a half decades in the business.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 19, 2011
It's the journey itself that provides the unexpected, often queasy twists and turns. Let's just say that the recent Shrek spinoff isn't the only Antonio Banderas film that could have been released with the title Puss in Boots.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 19, 2011
A shocking, stunning, hyper-stylized interlude - designed to make you shudder.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Page 2 of 9