The Skin I Live In Reviews

Page 1 of 9
José Teodoro
Film Comment Magazine
November 5, 2013
Almodóvar has a body of work as rigorously personal as any out there, and, even with its flaws, he wears this latest Skin rather well.
Nicolas Rapold
Film Comment Magazine
July 1, 2013
Despite the typically invigorating sense of line and framing, The Skin I Live In withholds the director's customary satisfactions and affirmations. The result is a saga of obsession that, in its saturnine undertone, maintains a hard-to-enjoy integrity.
Will Leitch
Deadspin
June 23, 2013
This is a lush, deeply pleasurable film to experience on a sensory level; Almodovar couldn't produce a boring frame if he left the lens cap on.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Will Chadwick
We Got This Covered
March 2, 2013
Pedro Almodovar's The Skin I Live In, a terrific, twisty thriller that is one of the filmmaker's best and one of the year's best films.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
Matt Looker
TheShiznit.co.uk
September 25, 2012
A movie puzzle that confounds and then unnerves with an impact as shocking as any of the most infamous of cinema last-reel shockers
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Blake Howard
2UE That Movie Show
May 15, 2012
I was agonising over every twist and turn. I was shuffling in my seat. I was feeling physical reactions to the scenes and quite simply I was impressed with Banderas' strikingly nuanced performance under the incredible direction of Almodóvar.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Michael Dequina
TheMovieReport.com
April 6, 2012
Leave it to Pedro Almodovar to figure a uniquely twisted way to unsettle.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Simon Weaving
Screenwize
April 3, 2012
With a deliberately preposterous storyline involving burning bodies, evil brothers, rape, suicide, revenge, sexual identity and medical procedure, this is darkly comic arthouse soap - with a tinge of horror - and definitely an acquired taste.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Aaron Yap
Flicks.co.nz
March 15, 2012
High-art pulp: brazenly kitschy, elegantly creepy, patently ludicrous.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Eric Melin
Scene-Stealers.com
March 9, 2012
There are two iron wills in this movie. What's shocking is the lengths that each character goes to. A seriously campy tone almost undercuts the seriousness of the story, and it has its fair share of uncomfortable and shocking laughs.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
March 9, 2012
With The Skin I Live In, Almodovar adopts a playfully wicked attitude, similar to the one James Whale used on Bride of Frankenstein.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
James Plath
Movie Metropolis
February 19, 2012
Although snubbed by the Oscar machine, "The Skin I Live In" is a solid drama-thriller that offers the best contemporary take on the Frankenstein tale that I've seen in a long while.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Top Critic
Lisa Schwarzbaum
Entertainment Weekly
February 18, 2012
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Marty Mapes
Movie Habit
February 16, 2012
Almodóvar returns to his horror roots
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
January 13, 2012
Not since David Cronenberg have surgery, sex and violence frolicked in the same stained bed so skillfully.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
Richard Knight
Knight at the Movies
January 13, 2012
Almodovar has delivered another transformative work that finds his queer sensibility in high, thrilling gear.
Matthew Pejkovic
Matt's Movie Reviews
January 12, 2012
This is a horror story only Almodovar could conjure. It's filled with his style of melodrama and love for the disenfranchised, not to mention a seedy undercurrent that is sure to turn off some. A film for strong minds and sturdy hearts.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Scott Weinberg
FEARnet
January 3, 2012
Combines enough that's genre-friendly and accessible with the trademark style of a truly unique and "artsy" filmmaker.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Simon Miraudo
Quickflix
December 22, 2011
The Skin I Live In certainly puts the ! in ALMODOVAR! The Spanish auteur's latest film is particularly melodramatic, bizarre, and visually sumptuous, even by his already heightened standards.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jason Best
Movie Talk
December 22, 2011
A mix of creepy horror and seductive melodrama, The Skin I Live In reveals its secrets gradually.
Page 1 of 9