The Skin I Live In - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Skin I Live In Reviews

Page 1 of 9
Kong Rithdee
Bangkok Post
May 9, 2016
In Almodovar's world, the flesh is deception, the comedy dark, the sex weird and the tears real; this time, however, the director just wasn't able to pull off all of these elements.
Elise Nakhnikian
House Next Door
October 9, 2011
The Skin I Live In lacks the fire and emotional depth of Pedro Almodóvar's best work.
Roger Moore
Tribune News Service
December 28, 2012
It's as disquieting as it is unsatisfying, a slog through gender issues, surgery and violence - sexual and otherwise.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Jeff Meyers
Metro Times (Detroit, MI)
November 16, 2011
Not even DePalma, at his sleaziest, or Hitchcock, at his most sexually frustrated, dared to be so unabashedly ugly.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Martin Tsai
Critic's Notebook
October 7, 2015
"The Skin I Live In" fails because it doesn't have a moral or anything else to say in spite of its self-seriousness.
Mike Scott
December 9, 2011
When it's all said and done, there's no real call for any emotional investment on the part of Almodovar's audience.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Edward Douglas
September 12, 2011
Considering how great it looks, it's a shame the odd choices Almodovar makes in telling the story turn it into one of his first big misses in a long time.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/10
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
October 27, 2011
Almodovar shoots himself in the foot with a too-tricky structure, resetting "Skin" with a new set of characters at about the halfway point.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Karina Longworth
Village Voice
October 11, 2011
[An] ever-unfurling, ultimately infuriating web of a film.
Eric D. Snider
November 5, 2011
The frequent disorientation makes things drag; it's hard to get a sense of the movie's pace when you're unsure how all these miscellaneous pieces fit together, or even whether they do.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Jeff Bayer
The Scorecard Review
November 14, 2011
It's like an art-house 'Human Centipede.' While it hints at some interesting ideas, it just comes down to a crazy doctor.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Top Critic
Christy Lemire
Associated Press
October 12, 2011
This feels almost like a parody of Almodovar, with its melodramatic tone and themes of gender, identity, sex and revenge.
| Original Score: 2/4
Joseph Proimakis
Movies for the Masses
November 20, 2011
o Almodóvar apofasise oti an aplws kanei allh mia epideiksh eksairetikoy sthsimatos kai xrwmatismatos ths alloprosallhs paletas toy, xrhsimopoiwntas ton thrileriko aksona toy biblioy, tha ebgaze allh mia xronia stis Kanes
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Matt Pais
October 20, 2011
He does good work, but madness does not breed efficiency.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
MaryAnn Johanson
Flick Filosopher
October 12, 2011
My Fair Lady meets The Human Centipede. It's disgusting and hateful, and all the more so because of its arthouse veneer of respectability...
Laura Clifford
Reeling Reviews
October 23, 2011
The film has elements of Hitchcock and, most of all, George Franju's far, far superior "Eyes Without a Face," but "The Skin I Live In" is structurally rickety.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Robin Clifford
Reeling Reviews
October 27, 2011
I have always respected, if not always liked, the works of Almodovar and I am disappointed in him for making a film like "The Skin I Live In." It left a sour taste in my mouth and feeling like I needed a shower afterward.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Top Critic
Mike D'Angelo
AV Club
May 20, 2011
If you took a Weekly World News cover story and tried to reverse-engineer a screenplay from the headline, it might look something like The Skin I Live In.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Top Critic
J. R. Jones
Chicago Reader
October 20, 2011
Almodovar delivers his usual satiny mise-en-scene, though in this case it tends to undermine the creepy material.
Donald J. Levit
ReelTalk Movie Reviews
October 14, 2011
Neither horror film, spoof, nor social commentary, 'The Skin I Live In' wanders in limbo, unsure of what its own essence is.
Page 1 of 9