The Smurfs 2 - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Smurfs 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 5
Chris Stuckmann
April 23, 2015
The Smurfs 2 panders to children, offering nothing more than a series of fart jokes and pratfalls, for the obvious purpose of cashing in on an already established fan base.
Full Review | Original Score: D-
September 29, 2013
Yay! The Smurfs are back - bigger, bolder and bluer than ever. It's fun fun fun, a more-than-worthy, hyper-energetic sequel to the fabulous first film...It's all wonderful fantasy nonsense, delivered fast and with plenty of self-consciously cheap laughs.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Matt Neal
The Standard
September 13, 2013
IT'S a rarity, but it's nice when a sequel learns from the mistakes of its predecessor.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Louise Keller
Urban Cinefile
September 10, 2013
While the 2011 Smurfs movie set in New York was filled with blue-tinged charm and cute-dom, the follow-up in Paris lacks the sweet innocence from the last time around, resulting in a yarn that is overblown and a bit of a yawn
Michael Dequina
September 2, 2013
The early-elementary-school-age kids in the auditorium will certainly shut up for ninety minutes, but just about anyone outside of that demographic will find attention wandering.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Todd Jorgenson
August 30, 2013
This follow-up is driven solely by financial motives, and available in 3D, of course.
Pete Hammond
August 14, 2013
Smurftastically stupid. Here's a sequel to a movie we didn't care about the first time around. It's enough to make you blue.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Ken Hanke
Mountain Xpress (Asheville, NC)
August 14, 2013
I took my inner-5-year-old to see The Smurfs 2 and what happened? The little weasel sneaked out of the theater and went to watch something else.
Full Review | Original Score: .5/5
Guy Lodge
This is London
August 12, 2013
In this obnoxiously peppy 3D sequel, "smurf" is an all-purpose prefix that the anaemic script uses when words fail. Which is often.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Linda Cook
Quad City Times (Davenport, IA)
August 8, 2013
'Smurfs 2' joins many other live action/animation mixes as an average outing for the smaller fry.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Jackie K. Cooper
August 8, 2013
Everything that was right with the first one is wrong with the second one.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
John Beifuss
Commercial Appeal (Memphis, TN)
August 8, 2013
At this week's preview screening, a young girl who apparently was experiencing her first 3D movie complained: 'It's in my face!' Child, I feel your pain.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Christopher Orr
The Atlantic
August 7, 2013
Yes, this is the point in the summer when I outsource my critical judgment to my kids.
Dan Lybarger
MovieMaker Magazine
August 5, 2013
Audiences who want something more than lazy puns and the word "Smurf " used every few seconds as though some weird contractual obligation existed should look elsewhere for entertainment.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Kevin Carr
7M Pictures
August 2, 2013
it's not excruciating like the previous film
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Sandy Schaefer
August 2, 2013
A slight improvement on its predecessor but also the cinematic equivalent of a cynical studio executive's checklist of items that need to be included in a Smurf movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Graham Young
Birmingham Mail
August 2, 2013
Once the early 3D novelty value is all but forgotten, it's clear these Smurfs don't have the staying power of Alvin And The Chipmunks.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Tracie Cooper
TV Guide's Movie Guide
August 2, 2013
It's not a masterpiece, but it isn't supposed to be. It is, however, a perfectly pleasant film for young children.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Steve Davis
Austin Chronicle
August 2, 2013
The sonorous voice of the late Winters in the role of wise Papa Smurf will have old-timers pine for the zaniness that comic genius could inspire in his prime. If only The Smurfs 2 had a smidgen of that madness.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Gary Wolcott
Tri-City Herald
August 2, 2013
Why the Smurf do we need The Smurfs 2?
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Page 1 of 5