The Spirit - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Spirit Reviews

Page 1 of 6
September 24, 2010
I guess a movie this brassy, sumptuous, and unafraid of what-the-hell effects, gags and visuals isn't enough for a lot of people. I don't really know why.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
June 17, 2009
Certifiably, but agreeably, insane, "The Spirit" plays like "Dick Tracy" on brown acid. Dialogue is bleated, not spoken. Artifacts are used as snuggle blankets. And it's aggressively bizarre, but it's the definition of guilty-pleasure entertainment.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 9, 2009
As it went on, I discovered that it had a kind of appealingly dumb, playful quality.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 5, 2009
Now that they've gone and made Batman all serious and good, the campy comics hero movie mantle has been taken up by The Spirit.
December 31, 2008
It makes sport of both comic books and hard-boiled detective fiction, yet it does so by utilizing and adhering to the conventions of each.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
December 29, 2008
I thought it was sort of cool and corny simultaneously.
December 29, 2008
The style dazzles, evoking everything wonderful and terrible from film noir and combining it with a likable hero and wonderfully pulpy premise.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
December 29, 2008
I didn't hate the movie. There are some scenes that are tremendously cool in the picture. If you can swallow the imitated style, it looks fantastic.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 26, 2008
Movies that exist in their own overheated genre-iffic world are not easy to swallow for a lot of audiences. The sheer joy with which Miller approaches this material, though, is infectious, and The Spirit grew on me even as it confounded me.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
December 26, 2008
...it's a visual feast, with every image lovingly framed and lit (and mixed with special effects) so that there's always something interesting to look at.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
December 24, 2008
In this erotic sleuthing laced with backward babes, Sarah does female doormat duty and Eva kicks butt when not baring it, while Scarlett's shrewdie hangs with homicidal fatty clones, like an underworld Madonna bossing an obedient crew of paunchy boy toys.
December 24, 2008
a classic superhero story, with a square-jawed hero who knows how to take a punch and kiss a dame until she's weak in the knees
| Original Score: 4/5
December 24, 2008
The Spirit is uneven, but its campy adventure provides some amusing, escapist fun.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 24, 2008
Taken on its own terms...it's a beautiful bit of balderdash.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 20, 2008
The best thing about The Spirit is that it was directed by [Frank] Miller....The worst thing about The Spirit is that it was written by Frank Miller.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 19, 2008
Frank Miller's first solo effort as a director is an entertaining, if forgettable, cinematic imagining of Will Eisner's classic superhero The Spirit.
April 13, 2017
If Will Eisner's comic and legacy was a flag, Miller would be that person stomping it in to the ground and lighting it on fire.
September 29, 2012
Frank Miller will undoubtedly make a movie worth watching one day, but it isn't The Spirit.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 18, 2011
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
April 4, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/5
Page 1 of 6