The Spy Who Dumped Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Spy Who Dumped Me Reviews

Page 5 of 10
August 6, 2018
[Kate McKinnon] is described in the film as "a little much", but she offers a correction: "I'm a lot much." And without the charms of its stars, The Spy Who Dumped Me wouldn't be much of anything at all.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 6, 2018
Neither the comedy nor the action was toned down in lieu of the other.
August 6, 2018
It's not funny enough to stand out as a comedy, it's not clever enough to stand out as a spy movie... It's pretty middle-of-the-road kind of forgettable.
August 6, 2018
If the shift in tone is jarring, the climax of the film is confusing and self-involved, and it makes for an underwhelming experience all around.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
August 6, 2018
Although I seem to have had higher expectations than I thought, the movie is super entertaining. We got fight scenes, car chases, undercover missions, mixed with the bumbling antics of the BFFs and genuine luck having duo.
August 6, 2018
Comedies and spy thrillers aren't inherently incompatible but it takes a deft hand and a well-honed script to successfully merge the two and The Spy Who Dumped Me has neither.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 5, 2018
Points for Kate McKinnon and a ruthlessly supportive female friendship.
August 5, 2018
Fans of Kunis and McKinnon, and of the genre, should find it an enjoyable escape from the late summer heat.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 5, 2018
It is telling that I figured out just what will happen in this predictable story minutes into the movie - most of the "surprises" are not a surprise - so the real draws are the action and McKinnon.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
August 5, 2018
That you even bother to stay with it is testament to the appeal of Kunis and McKinnon, both of whom are more sophisticated than the mindless drivel they're handed.
Full Review | Original Score: C
August 5, 2018
Even though you'll end up remembering the joyous feelings much more than any particular gag by the time you get home, The Spy Who Dumped Me succeeds at being a bloody good time.
August 4, 2018
Is there such a thing as a light-hearted slog? There is now.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 4, 2018
Despite the welcome and hilarious presence of Kate McKinnon, the action scenes overwhelm the comedy in this uneven movie that can't decide what it really wants to be.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 4, 2018
There's fun to be had with this deeply silly slice of R-rated raunchiness, which boasts two solid performances and a breezy approach to the material. But the film struggles to balance its crass brand of humor with shocking bursts of carnage.
August 3, 2018
It didn't stink, but the humor just didn't work for me.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
August 3, 2018
There are a couple of subplots just wedged in there at the end...this just isn't the movie it could've been, but I still had some fun watching it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.6/5
August 3, 2018
When you have to resort to not one but several separate bits revolving around diarrhea & vomiting for hopeful laughs, it's easy to tell one is grasping for comedy straws. (Content Review for Parents - Violence, Profanity, Nudity, etc. - Available)
August 3, 2018
Not only has a superbly spiky script and inventive direction, but it's also an engaging new angle on true girl power.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
August 3, 2018
Moments of girl power fail to connect with even sympathetic viewers, thanks to a mess of inane narrative, scattershot action, and jokes that don't quite land.
August 3, 2018
With impressive action and some decent laughs, this is a perfectly acceptable August entertainment.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Page 5 of 10