The Spy Who Dumped Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Spy Who Dumped Me Reviews

Page 5 of 10
August 8, 2018
Ultimately, what makes The Spy Who Dumped Me an enjoyable experience is what Kunis and McKinnon bring to the table.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 8, 2018
The only thing more surprising than the lack of laughs is the abundance of kick-ass action.
August 8, 2018
As ridiculous as it may get, it still feels true.
August 8, 2018
Thank goodness for McKinnon, who launches this middling material to greater heights through her own sheer will. Now that's a superpower.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 8, 2018
Beneath the film's pop feminism bubbles an anger that might potentially have more than one target - and which leaves you wondering what this genre will look like in another couple of years.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 8, 2018
What's this? I wondered. The answer, I discovered two days later, is the breezy, completely bonkers buddy film for which we didn't know we'd been waiting all summer.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
August 8, 2018
A screwball spoof that's salvaged only by the sarcastic sincerity of Kate McKinnon skewering MI6's icy chief (Gillian Anderson).
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
August 7, 2018
It's too half-baked in tone, too tone-deaf in its jokes, and too jokey in its half-baked plotting...
August 6, 2018
When it works, it's buzzing with laughs, energy and suspense, but what could have been a great, swift 90-minute zany thrill, winds up becoming a bloated two-hour experience that eventually loses some steam.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
August 6, 2018
[Kate McKinnon] is described in the film as "a little much", but she offers a correction: "I'm a lot much." And without the charms of its stars, The Spy Who Dumped Me wouldn't be much of anything at all.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 6, 2018
Neither the comedy nor the action was toned down in lieu of the other.
August 6, 2018
It's not funny enough to stand out as a comedy, it's not clever enough to stand out as a spy movie... It's pretty middle-of-the-road kind of forgettable.
August 6, 2018
If the shift in tone is jarring, the climax of the film is confusing and self-involved, and it makes for an underwhelming experience all around.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
August 6, 2018
Although I seem to have had higher expectations than I thought, the movie is super entertaining. We got fight scenes, car chases, undercover missions, mixed with the bumbling antics of the BFFs and genuine luck having duo.
August 6, 2018
Comedies and spy thrillers aren't inherently incompatible but it takes a deft hand and a well-honed script to successfully merge the two and The Spy Who Dumped Me has neither.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 5, 2018
Points for Kate McKinnon and a ruthlessly supportive female friendship.
August 5, 2018
Fans of Kunis and McKinnon, and of the genre, should find it an enjoyable escape from the late summer heat.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 5, 2018
It is telling that I figured out just what will happen in this predictable story minutes into the movie - most of the "surprises" are not a surprise - so the real draws are the action and McKinnon.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
August 5, 2018
That you even bother to stay with it is testament to the appeal of Kunis and McKinnon, both of whom are more sophisticated than the mindless drivel they're handed.
Full Review | Original Score: C
August 5, 2018
Even though you'll end up remembering the joyous feelings much more than any particular gag by the time you get home, The Spy Who Dumped Me succeeds at being a bloody good time.
Page 5 of 10