The Spy Who Dumped Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Spy Who Dumped Me Reviews

Page 5 of 9
August 5, 2018
Points for Kate McKinnon and a ruthlessly supportive female friendship.
August 5, 2018
Fans of Kunis and McKinnon, and of the genre, should find it an enjoyable escape from the late summer heat.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 5, 2018
It is telling that I figured out just what will happen in this predictable story minutes into the movie - most of the "surprises" are not a surprise - so the real draws are the action and McKinnon.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
August 5, 2018
That you even bother to stay with it is testament to the appeal of Kunis and McKinnon, both of whom are more sophisticated than the mindless drivel they're handed.
Full Review | Original Score: C
August 5, 2018
Even though you'll end up remembering the joyous feelings much more than any particular gag by the time you get home, The Spy Who Dumped Me succeeds at being a bloody good time.
August 4, 2018
Is there such a thing as a light-hearted slog? There is now.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 4, 2018
Despite the welcome and hilarious presence of Kate McKinnon, the action scenes overwhelm the comedy in this uneven movie that can't decide what it really wants to be.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 4, 2018
There's fun to be had with this deeply silly slice of R-rated raunchiness, which boasts two solid performances and a breezy approach to the material. But the film struggles to balance its crass brand of humor with shocking bursts of carnage.
August 3, 2018
It didn't stink, but the humor just didn't work for me.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
August 3, 2018
There are a couple of subplots just wedged in there at the end...this just isn't the movie it could've been, but I still had some fun watching it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.6/5
August 3, 2018
When you have to resort to not one but several separate bits revolving around diarrhea & vomiting for hopeful laughs, it's easy to tell one is grasping for comedy straws. (Content Review for Parents - Violence, Profanity, Nudity, etc. - Available)
August 3, 2018
Not only has a superbly spiky script and inventive direction, but it's also an engaging new angle on true girl power.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
August 3, 2018
Moments of girl power fail to connect with even sympathetic viewers, thanks to a mess of inane narrative, scattershot action, and jokes that don't quite land.
August 3, 2018
With impressive action and some decent laughs, this is a perfectly acceptable August entertainment.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 3, 2018
Directors have yet to find a way to utilize McKinnon's unique brand of kinetic energy and fidgety goofiness. And that goes for The Spy Who Dumped Me as well. She's way over the top here, and never gets into a groove.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
August 3, 2018
Director and writer Susanna Fogel, she of fluff-with-an-edge material like Life Partners and Chasing Life, injects a feminist and fun feel to the action.
August 3, 2018
McKinnon's too-muchness is the only thing The Spy Who Dumped Me has going for it.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
August 3, 2018
Plays like Romy and Michele's Mission Implausible. Only instead of folding sweaters, they pile up corpses.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 3, 2018
The problems really begin about halfway through, when you realize that all of this has been done before, and done better.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 3, 2018
"Even though Kunis is appealing enough and "Saturday Night Live's" McKinnon is, of course, a comic genius, it's an awkward and ultimately unsatisfying mash-up of genres."
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Page 5 of 9