The Spy Who Dumped Me Reviews

Page 1 of 6
March 4, 2020
[Kate McKinnon's] performance is a bunch of disconnected comic riffs in search of a character.
October 17, 2019
[T]his feels more like a Xerox of a Xerox, vamping similar gags and scenes movie audiences have already seen in espionage comedies.
July 10, 2019
The action fails to seamlessly entwine with the comedy.
May 21, 2019
The Spy Who Dumped Me seems constantly at odds with itself - uncertain whether it wants to be a comedy or an action film even if it is consistently diverting.
May 15, 2019
The Spy Who Dumped Me has a few winning jokes, but it falls short of being anything more than a mediocre spy movie.
March 21, 2019
This film doesn't quite come together like it should, it has all of the spy hijinks , and the action, and its a little over the top with the action in some scenes.
February 25, 2019
The Spy Who Dumped Me is a frustrating film of unmet potential.
January 29, 2019
I wish I could say nice things like that about The Spy Who Dumped Me, but instead the film was a bit of a dumpster fire, and McKinnon's presence only doused the 117-minute hot mess in lighter fluid.
January 8, 2019
Although it's not without laughs, and not without thrills, The Spy Who Dumped Me is, in the end, an uneven and underwhelming Euro-trip.
December 21, 2018
A middling action comedy that's aided immeasurably by the formidable presence of Kate McKinnon.
November 27, 2018
There might be three or four laugh lines in the whole 117 minutes.
November 12, 2018
Kate McKinnon gives it her all - but I couldn't help but wish that the formulaic film around her was as wild and unpredictable as she was.
November 3, 2018
At two hours, the movie is still way too overlong, way too plot-heavy, and way too messy for me to give it much of a recommendation.
October 17, 2018
All the creative decision-makers of The Spy Who Dumped Me are white, and it shows.
October 11, 2018
This film, directed by Susanna Fogel, is a crass and vulgar spy caper with few admirable qualities, aside from the competent pairing of Kunis and McKinnon and one terrific laugh about the overwrought menu of a certain American restaurant chain.
October 11, 2018
The Spy Who Dumped Me has ambition. Yet when surrounded by a cardboard plot, flimsy characteristics and ill-timed jokes regarding Edward Snowden, even a talented cast lacks the motive to save the vibe.
September 5, 2018
Somebody, please get a seasoned director who knows comedy, and a better script (the idea, admittedly, was good), and give the two female leads a second chance.
August 30, 2018
In addition to the [film's] lazy formulaic gags, perhaps what fails in this comedy is that it ends up being a hybrid. [Full review in Spanish]
August 30, 2018
The pleasure of watching Kunis and McKinnon carries the movie through a lot of rough spots, and that's extremely useful, because rough spots are mostly what the film has.
August 29, 2018
It's a shame that with such talented actresses the filmmalers have achieved a product of such low quality and the truth is that I feel for McKinnon because I usually read a lot that is a talented comedian. [Full Review in Spanish]
Page 1 of 6