The Sweeney - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Sweeney Reviews

Page 2 of 28
½ November 1, 2014
old fashioned cop film.
watching with big g
October 30, 2014
Yeah. Not exactly intellectual stimulating but passed the time.
September 27, 2014
Didn't capture the essence of the TV show and was a really forced storyline that was unfortunately both predictable and unbelievable.
August 20, 2014
What an age we live in, one tedious formulaic film after another from England and America justifying police brutality and self-righteous "coppers" taking the law into their own hands and getting away with it. Here's another dose of charmless, deviant psychopathic cops from the conveyor belt.
At least the characters in the original series were human, and often humane, but in this film they are reduced to the single and inexplicable dimension of menace. Reagan and Carter should not be policing our society, they should be under psychiatric observation.
The stark sets of glass sheet and featureless wall panels, and the doom laden and bloated (Batman-ripoff) sound track add to the apocalyptic feel, creating the justification presumably for the suspension of normal life and the delivery of summary justice by our unbalanced "heroes".
This ugly and essentially provincial film tries to raise itself to international stature by setting some of the action scenes among the most recognizable tourist attractions of London town. Once that's done the characters return to their inhuman industrial landscapes and comfortless post-modern interiors, which are a perfect setting for the bullish and bloated Winstone and his affected throaty, mashed up delivery.
I guess these British film-makers wanted to show that they were harder than the Americans - but they don't seem to have been anymore ambitious than that.
July 23, 2014
Complete and utter garbage.
Plan B should have been subtitled.
Harlequin68
Super Reviewer
July 17, 2014
In "The Sweeney," London Police's Flying Squad under the command of Jack Regan(Ray Winstone) makes another stunning bust, interrupting an armed robbery in progress. Only to find out that DCI Ivan Lewis(Stephen Mackintosh) of internal affairs has issues with their use of violence. In any case, DCI Frank Haskins(Damian Lewis) covers for Regan, even as Regan is carrying on an affair with Lewis' wife, Nancy(Hayley Atwell), who is also in Regan's unit. Well, maybe it's a good thing there is a case to distract them all, a jewelry robbery gone wrong.

As befitting a movie based on a television series, "The Sweeney" feels like a cliched extended episode of a police procedural, and one whose complicated resolution I still don't understand. But what separates this from mediocrity is the excellent Ray Winstone, simultaneously tough and sensitive, whose throwback look contrasts with the shining towers of modern London which is also well photographed. And as a bonus there is the thrilling ten minute open air shootout which is probably in the top ten all-time.
½ July 11, 2014
Time I won't ever get back unfortunately
July 11, 2014
Not usually a fan of Winstone, but he was enjoyable to watch in this.
The action is pretty good, but the dialogue's is a little weak in places. Overall it's a cracking watch.
½ July 6, 2014
Action-packed film, I really enjoyed watching it. Poor cars, Ray Winstone and Ben Drew nice roles!

3.5 Stars!
½ June 21, 2014
Armed and dangerous, the Sweeney Flying Squad are old school crime fighters enforcing the law. Led by legendary detective Jack Regan and his loyal partner, they have their own unique way of operating and always get results. With a bank heist in progress and his old enemy making a reappearance on the London crime scene, Regan will do whatever it takes to get the job done, even defying orders from his no-nonsense boss.
June 13, 2014
It's gotta cool soundtrack that's pretty damn repetitive, It has some damn cool action chase sequences but My problem with the movie is that alot of acting especially in the beginning, feels forced or over done. Either way you look at it there is just something off about the acting in the movie.
½ May 28, 2014
I usually really enjoy Nick Love's films, he has a creative way of working within his budget and always brings something fresh to the table. This film is so generic and bland that it doesn't feel like a Nick Love film. The pacing is ridiculously bad, the film isn't even 2 hours long and it dragged so much. Ben Drew is always enjoyable to watch on screen but he is squandered on this film. Ray Winstone is doing his usual i'm hard, come and have a fucking go routine and it just makes the film bland. Not a bad film, but not a good one either.
½ April 17, 2014
Whilst the dialogue is so riddled with clichés it essentially becomes a giant, lone cliché, and some of the actors appear almost embarrassed at times, it is scored to near perfection by Lorne Balfe, and some of the characterisation is likeable. Just such a waste of potential. At least John Thaw wasn't here to see it.
½ April 9, 2014
One star for the effort & half for plan b's acting. Poor film.
April 5, 2014
Nick Love's best film so far. Don't worry about the conservative mainstream reviews this film is good. :-) Love loves Mann.
½ March 20, 2014
(47%)
Taking a TV series that is 1970's to a tee and recreating it in a modern setting hasn't really worked here, as beyond the title this is hardly anything like the TV programme. The show was mainly about cops pushing their power to breaking point to get the job done and reaping the consequence afterwards, even if they were indeed successful. While here it's about the more clear cut elements from the show like shoot outs and car chases as the interesting ideas of the show play second fiddle to sub "Heat" style action. So forget the Sweeney tag on as it is a gimmick, and just try to enjoy this low-budget cop show for what it's worth.
½ March 18, 2014
Nothing new here but the leads do a solid job and its entertaining enough, although predictable!
March 3, 2014
Don't mess with the Sweeney girlfriend! I love Ray Winstone. He's amazing. It was a great acton packed movie which is odd coming from the Brits. I kid, I kid. Good movie though.
February 25, 2014
Great series defamed by a remake-movie.

The Sweeney was a great TV series in the 1970s. This is a very lacklustre 2012 movie which does absolutely no credit to the original series.

I was hoping for a tight, gritty, realistic drama. Instead I got contrivances, and cliche after cliche. Hardly realistic at all, and often seems more like a vigilante movie than a cop drama. It sometimes felt like a Dirty Harry or Deathwish movie.

Not all bad. Some of the action sequences were quite good, and some of the repartee was amusing.

Performances are pretty wooden, as you would expect from a gung-ho police drama. Ray Winstone is...Ray Winstone. Always good to see Hayley Atwell...
½ February 24, 2014
Excellent! Exciting, gritty, classy and tough. Why don't they make entertainment like this anymore?
Page 2 of 28