The Triplets of Belleville - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Triplets of Belleville Reviews

Page 1 of 8
February 8, 2004
Too far-fetched for me to dive into a genre I have not yet acquired a taste for.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
January 23, 2004
...director Chomet proves to be quite effective at establishing an utterly bizarre looking variation on our world, he's just not able to hold our interest all the way through.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
November 19, 2003
Perhaps the worst animated feature film I've ever seen.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/5
October 7, 2004
The big test was how few times I could look at my watch to determine how much more agony I had to endure.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/10
February 13, 2004
...might be the French counterpart of a Jerry Lewis movie. For the few that will love it, as many more will be baffled three times over.
June 4, 2004
A beautiful but dull affair.
Full Review| Original Score: 2.5/4
December 12, 2003
A dialog-free, animated film for adults that would have made a great short film, but, without speech or much of a story, it is seventy-five minutes too long.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 4, 2004
doesn't have much to offer outside of its technical achievements, which is both amazing and a shame, considering Chomet's fertile imagination.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
February 13, 2004
Thanks to Chomet, 'beautifully strange' has a new home address, and it's in Belleville.
Read More | Original Score: 5/5
January 29, 2005
If you've a heart and a pulse, you will like this movie.
Read More | Original Score: A
December 26, 2003
An animated feature of appalling originality and scary charm.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
November 25, 2003
For someone with an adventurous cinematic appetite, a production that makes Miyazaki appear mainstream is surely worth a look.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 6, 2004
Triplets is as visually unfamiliar as a foreign language.
November 25, 2003
While, like most animated films, The Triplets of Belleville was made by many people, this divinely eccentric movie feels as if it came straight to the screen from one man's wild and wantonly free imagination.
January 27, 2004
The astonishing, outlandish, and singular originality of this movie defeats any attempt to describe or explain it. But it also makes it a lot of fun to watch.
Read More | Original Score: A-
December 29, 2010
Astonishing, outlandish, and full of laughs.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 13, 2004
A stylish throwback, a pretty work of art in every frame.
| Original Score: 3/4
January 27, 2004
Virtually dialogue free, Les triplettes is full of funny and bizarre images, often in the same frame.
December 4, 2003
International story of bicycling, rescue, singing, the passage of time and the nature of evil is a fantastic use of animation for grown-up storytelling.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 16, 2003
An odd and oddly satisfying concoction.
Page 1 of 8