The Triplets of Belleville - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Triplets of Belleville Reviews

Page 1 of 8
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
February 8, 2004
Too far-fetched for me to dive into a genre I have not yet acquired a taste for.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
January 23, 2004
...director Chomet proves to be quite effective at establishing an utterly bizarre looking variation on our world, he's just not able to hold our interest all the way through.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Phil Hall
Film Threat
November 19, 2003
Perhaps the worst animated feature film I've ever seen.
| Original Score: 1.5/5
Tony Medley
tonymedley.com
October 7, 2004
The big test was how few times I could look at my watch to determine how much more agony I had to endure.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/10
Thomas Delapa
Boulder Weekly
February 13, 2004
...might be the French counterpart of a Jerry Lewis movie. For the few that will love it, as many more will be baffled three times over.
Forrest Hartman
Reno Gazette-Journal
June 4, 2004
A beautiful but dull affair.
Full Review| Original Score: 2.5/4
Steve Rhodes
Internet Reviews
December 12, 2003
A dialog-free, animated film for adults that would have made a great short film, but, without speech or much of a story, it is seventy-five minutes too long.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Pete Croatto
Filmcritic.com
January 4, 2004
doesn't have much to offer outside of its technical achievements, which is both amazing and a shame, considering Chomet's fertile imagination.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
February 13, 2004
Thanks to Chomet, 'beautifully strange' has a new home address, and it's in Belleville.
| Original Score: 5/5
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
January 29, 2005
If you've a heart and a pulse, you will like this movie.
| Original Score: A
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
December 26, 2003
An animated feature of appalling originality and scary charm.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
November 25, 2003
For someone with an adventurous cinematic appetite, a production that makes Miyazaki appear mainstream is surely worth a look.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Lisa Kennedy
Denver Post
February 6, 2004
Triplets is as visually unfamiliar as a foreign language.
Top Critic
Ella Taylor
L.A. Weekly
November 25, 2003
While, like most animated films, The Triplets of Belleville was made by many people, this divinely eccentric movie feels as if it came straight to the screen from one man's wild and wantonly free imagination.
Nell Minow
Movie Mom at Yahoo! Movies
January 27, 2004
The astonishing, outlandish, and singular originality of this movie defeats any attempt to describe or explain it. But it also makes it a lot of fun to watch.
| Original Score: A-
Nell Minow
Common Sense Media
December 29, 2010
Astonishing, outlandish, and full of laughs.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Phil Villarreal
Arizona Daily Star
February 13, 2004
A stylish throwback, a pretty work of art in every frame.
| Original Score: 3/4
Brooke Holgerson
Boston Phoenix
January 27, 2004
Virtually dialogue free, Les triplettes is full of funny and bizarre images, often in the same frame.
James Rocchi
Netflix
December 4, 2003
International story of bicycling, rescue, singing, the passage of time and the nature of evil is a fantastic use of animation for grown-up storytelling.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Kirk Honeycutt
Hollywood Reporter
July 16, 2003
An odd and oddly satisfying concoction.
Page 1 of 8