The Triumph of Love - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Triumph of Love Reviews

Page 1 of 4
May 4, 2002
Viewed as a comedy, a romance, a fairy tale, or a drama, there's nothing remotely triumphant about this motion picture.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
April 19, 2002
A clash between the artificial structure of the story and the more contemporary, naturalistic tone of the film ...
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
June 6, 2002
For this sort of thing to work, we need agile performers, but the proficient, dull Sorvino has no light touch, and Rodan is out of his league.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
June 7, 2002
A boring masquerade ball where normally good actors, even Kingsley, are made to look bad.
| Original Score: 2/5
December 7, 2007
I was periodically put off by a certain self-consciousness of delivery.
April 22, 2019
This story of false identities set in the grounds of a luxurious (and remarkably empty) stately home feels like a rehearsal for the real thing.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
April 16, 2002
Has lost some of the dramatic conviction that underlies the best of comedies...
April 17, 2002
Comes off like a bad imitation of the Bard.
April 19, 2002
"My god, I'm behaving like an idiot!" Yes, you are, Ben Kingsley.
Full Review | Original Score: C
April 19, 2002
I can't remember the last time I saw a movie where I wanted so badly for the protagonist to fail.
Full Review| Original Score: 1.5/5
July 19, 2004
This gender-bending romp is enjoyably witty, even if it feels rather long and pointless.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
March 28, 2002
Peploe's smarts and the deft performances can't compensate for the fact that what we're watching, however charming, is a fancifully costumed theater piece that cuts off the oxygen needed to make a play breathe onscreen.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
April 18, 2002
De-lovely to look at, deliciously cast, but something less than delightful.
April 18, 2002
A triumph of misguided moviemaking, starting with a grotesquely miscast Mira Sorvino, who arguably gives the worst performance ever by an Oscar winner.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
April 19, 2002
Coughs and sputters on its own postmodern conceit.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
May 2, 2002
The premise is less playful than played-out.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
May 9, 2002
Proves a lovely trifle that, unfortunately, is a little too in love with its own cuteness.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
May 9, 2002
More trifle than triumph.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 10, 2002
It could have been something special, but two things drag it down to mediocrity -- director Clare Peploe's misunderstanding of Marivaux's rhythms, and Mira Sorvino's limitations as a classical actress.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 29, 2002
If you're going to present such fare to a modern audience, what do you do to justify the choice?
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Page 1 of 4