The Unknown Girl (La fille inconnue) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Unknown Girl (La fille inconnue) Reviews

Page 1 of 4
December 15, 2017
I... appreciate how her journey is initially driven by guilt but ends up powered by compassion and a sense of responsibility
November 4, 2017
It's not a good [mystery] per se, but it's almost what you'd expect from the brothers handling genre material.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
October 4, 2017
The kind of picture you see, are momentarily changed by and then try but fail to encapsulate later with a friend over coffee.
September 28, 2017
Buoyed by a quietly intense performance by Haenel, The Unknown Girl delivers a clear-eyed and gut-wrenching look inside the lives of Europe's downtrodden, whose problems are bigger than one well-meaning doctor can fix.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
September 28, 2017
The Dardennes do what they do best: following the characters around, leaving us to figure out the connections.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
September 28, 2017
The question that looms large here, lingering long after the closing credits, is whether, despite our human need for forgiveness, absolution is ever truly possible.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 22, 2017
Jenny's search is a quest for atonement, not only for herself, but also for others. A physician of the body, she becomes a kind of physician of the soul, her clinic office a secular confessional, sealed by her ethic of doctor-patient confidentiality.
Full Review | Original Score: A
September 14, 2017
"The Unknown Girl" is an imperfect but absorbing addition to the canon, a carefully plotted thriller of conscience in which Jenny spends most of the movie patiently and persistently atoning for her mistake.
September 8, 2017
... a powerful and perceptive character study about obsession, guilt and socioeconomic despair.
September 8, 2017
Every Dardennes movie is worth seeing, and The Unknown Girl has all kinds of gripping undercurrents.
Top Critic
September 8, 2017
The story is gripping, with a steady drip-drip of twists and turns as a town's familiar buried secrets find their way to daylight.
September 7, 2017
A young doctor has a crisis of conscience in the latest incisive drama from the Dardenne Brothers.
September 7, 2017
Shot with unassuming lyricism and an eye for everyday detail and full of modest, eloquent performances.
Top Critic
September 6, 2017
In The Unknown Girl, the brothers' durably direct technique shines, even when their storytelling doesn't.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
September 5, 2017
As we watch Haenel ... stride through these overdetermined scenes, clutching a medical bag to her side, we are reminded that even the most timeworn of conventions can be made electric and alive.
September 5, 2017
One of the strangest aspects of [the Dardennes'] work is their combination of sweeping plot twists and endings that leave the door open to both hopeful and hopeless futures.
September 4, 2017
You think afresh of the film's title and wonder, Who is more unknown here, the nameless victim or the inscrutable doctor?
September 1, 2017
How we think about our neighbor in the abstract can and usually is a very different thing from how we respond to that same neighbor when we have to look him or her in the face.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
August 31, 2017
Combines moral allegory with detective noir in its probing look at the quest of a young doctor to relieve her feelings of guilt.
Full Review | Original Score: B
August 3, 2017
Every movie made by Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne arouses my interest and admiration.
Page 1 of 4