The Violent Kind - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Violent Kind Reviews

Page 1 of 3
February 27, 2015
Aside from skinny young bikers that I never see in real life, this was an original supernatural film. The acting isn't great, the budget certainly wasn't expensive and casting could've been better, but the film maintains eeriness that stays somewhat unexplained and gave me a creepy feeling.
November 11, 2013
pretty terrible, has its moments
July 30, 2013
Between a 3/10 and 4/10, it's one of those movies that belongs in an incinerator rather than a cinema.
May 6, 2013
Aside from skinny young bikers that I never see in real life, this was an original supernatural film. The acting isn't great, the budget certainly wasn't expensive and casting could've been better, but the film maintains eerieness that stays somewhat unexplained and gave me a creepy feeling.
½ October 17, 2012
It takes half the movie to get interesting and If the supernatural elements weren't there the story might have worked better.
October 13, 2012
Not a bad effort. The film picks up quite considerably when the missing gang turns up and injects some much needed excitement.. Quite original in parts and certainly not as disappointing as some suggest.
½ July 14, 2012
Even after finishing the movie...I'm not quite sure what I just watched. This film has NO idea what the hell it wants to be, leaving you questioning what the hell you're doing still watching it. For a very short time it feels like it just might turn into a decent film...but QUICKLY does the exact opposite.
½ July 9, 2012
Tämä oli jo niin kummallinen keitos, että jo pelkästää sen takia kannattaa uhrata reilu 80 min. tähän.
½ June 3, 2012
Perhaps I am extremely thick and perverted as one of the below reviews suggests, but I mostly enjoyed The Violent Kind. In many ways, the movie reminds me of a hyper-violent version of Sometimes They Come Back but with a completely different twist. The Violent Kind follows a group of modern bikers and their groupies as they fall prey to a twisted bunch of potentially paranormal bikers that seem like throwbacks to Rebel Without a Cause, a film that is discussed ad nauseum in the movie. I enjoiyed this as a somewhat original idea for a horror film that goes to unexpected places. It is never brilliant and is a bit too long--ten to twenty minutes could have easily been cut--however, it manages to be both brutal and surprising at the same time.
DrStrangeblog
Super Reviewer
½ March 27, 2012
Abysmal. People who watch this movie should have to answer an exit poll, and anyone who says they liked it gets exiled to a remote rocky island. The common wisdom is that no horror film loses money - let us pray The Violent Kind is the first so the Butcher brothers are never allowed to make another. Takes an early yet commanding lead for Worst Film I Have Seen In 2012.
March 20, 2012
Strange, bloodthirsty, at times interesting, film which rather too readily glorifies wanton brutality. It's hard to sympathise with the biker gang who inadvertantly find themselves the victims when the first part of the film sets them up as violent and brutal thugs. The switch mid way to an Evil Dead meets Last House on the Left scenario is not entirely unsuccessful and some interesting visual ideas are explored.
March 12, 2012
Truly awful and misjudged on every conceivable level. This film does not know what it wants to be!
March 11, 2012
This movie ticked me off. Whoever wrote it needed to go back over those last 45 pages. The best actors in the world couldn't pull that mess off.
February 17, 2012
Just finished watching it, Have no clue what the hell happend..
i want my 1Hr 40 back
February 15, 2012
pretty good if u like the 8 films to die for Shit
½ February 13, 2012
Chaque mois sortent, dans une indifférence généralisée, des Slashers, des Survivals, des Torture-Porn et plein d'autres trucs qui tachent par dizaines. Le seul moyen pour les responsables d'une petite péloche fauchée de se hisser hors de cette fange indifférencié est de se faire remarquer par tout les moyens, de prouver qu'ils possèdent une vision bien à eux du cinéma de genre, qu'ils sont prêts à offrir du concept jamais-vu, et que ce n'est pas parce qu'on a choisi "Butcher Brothers" comme pseudo qu'on mérite d'être relégué au rang de simples fournisseurs de films gore pour primates. "The violent kind", l'oeuvre ici incriminée, prouve que dans la série B aussi, le mieux et l'ennemi du bien. Au départ pourtant, le film adoptait un parti-pris inhabituel puisque les victimes pressenties ne sont pas de gentils étudiants un peu bêtes mais de sales bikers craignos et agressifs flanqués de leur copines radasses. Une fausse bonne-idée puisque l'angoisse et l'inconfort suscitées par ce genre de film trouvent généralement leur source dans l'empathie qu'on peut éprouver pour les victimes. Après quelques violentes séquences de possession (sans doute les moments plus convaincants du film), ce dernier vire sans crier gare au Home-Invasion avec des ploucs Rockabilly zombifiés qui n'arrêtent pas de bavasser pour ne rien dire avant d'amener l'élément explicatif sous la forme d'un inepte complot cosmique. Si je compte bien, en passant à la moulinette des oeuvres aussi éclectiques que peuvent l'être "Evil dead", "L'exorciste", "Sometimes they come back", "Funny Games" et "Skyline", les frangins Butcher se sont dit que le mélange de bons films (bon d'accord, pas "Skyline") créerait une synthèse proche de la perfection. En fait de cocktail réussi, on est plus proche du mélange Schweppes/Bailey's : séparément, c'est bon mais les deux ensemble...inutile de vous faire un dessin. Cette hybridation imbécile rend le film complètement inconsistant et incapable d'assurer un scénario ou une atmosphère un tant soi peu cohérente. Même en ramenant les choses à une échelle plus terre-à-terre, en s'efforçant de considérer la chose comme un simple film d'horreur qui racolerait grâce à la violence et au cul, "The violent kind" assure vraiment le minimum syndical.
½ January 29, 2012
Un autre film qui commence de façon prometteuse, mais qui se termine par une sà (C)rieuse envie de chier qui fait qu'on se questionne encore sur l'identità (C) des mà (C)chanst de l'histoire. Dà (C)mons? Fantômes? Aliens? Dire que j'ai dû attendre 5 heures pour voir ce film-là...
January 25, 2012
Can't tell if they were demons...or aliens...or wtf. I laughed and enjoyed it for what it was. Murderball is the man!
½ December 18, 2011
The Violent Kind had so much potential to have been something interesting, but honestly it felt like filmmakers were trying to throw everything into this movie. The resultant movie was a mish-mash of themes and not really fully expressing them all.

That being said, I was at least entertained by it. And the message that we only seem to respond to violence was powerful.

Acting was a bit hackneyed but passable, and the characters were interesting for the most part.

Worth a watch if you like violence in movies, but not if you are expecting anything great.
Page 1 of 3