The Viral Factor - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Viral Factor Reviews

Page 1 of 5
May 29, 2016
Pow Pow Bang Bang... zZz.
January 27, 2016
Ohh there is a poster here, and there are people write reviews !! Amazing !!
½ August 24, 2015
A good story to watch.
April 22, 2015
"Dante Lam is John Woo via Michael Bay" -Tom Long, Detroit News

Good way of putting it Tom, the camera rarely stays still for long. Great acting and effects. Could have done with less melodrama, but the family angle makes the bromance work. Lam is at his best in his bullet ballet wheelhouse.
½ September 29, 2014
A nicely done action film from Asian film makers. It has the goods in overall presentation, though I felt that the action scenes are more likely reused "Bourne" scenes sort of. But then, the story is flat as expected, there are a lot of bad and ridiculous moments and made this so over the top. Not good nor not bad at all. This just proves Asian films can be a Hollywood caliber.
½ July 9, 2014
NICE, once again- great cinematography, fight choreography, lighting, and solid forward movement. Gives you a good 2 minutes of breathing room in-between 2 hours of action that prove how weak Bay movies are.
November 30, 2013
I enjoyed it coz it was decent action. it could of used a bigger budget and a bit more relationship work coz it seemed rushed and very little or brief moments that were suppose to signify bonding. it also felt a bit hollywood. wasn't a bad watch though. good little entertain action flick.
½ June 4, 2013
pretty boring for an action movie...lots of gun battles but thats about it
April 12, 2013
I was hoping to see the ending of the movie, but it just never stopped. Action fatigued.
Super Reviewer
March 18, 2013
High octane over the top action packed revenge mode flick. Living in his last days, agent Jon (Jay Chou) fulfills the obligations of his mother's request only to find himself in the middle of a "tug of war" match between himself vs. his estranged brother's Yeung (Nicholas Tse) criminal organization. When the organization takes Yeung's daughter hostage and uses her as a host for the global viral contamination...the brother's join forces to stop the criminal element from succeeding in their master plan for world supremacy. The action never lets up. Exceptionally over the top action flick.
½ March 8, 2013
Well-rounded emotionally-charged Hong Kong film from a director at the top of his genre.
The writing is awful, but pretty much everything else about the film is good. Dante Lam's direction is strong, the performances from Jay Chou and Nicholas Tse are good, visuals and production values are excellent and the action scenes are top calibre. Some individual scenes are well written and executed, and there is generally a lot to like about the film. Generally, the further the whole 'Viral Factor' aspect is pushed into the background, the more engaging and enjoyable the film is - and for much of the running time it is indeed relegated to the background.
February 15, 2013
Decent film.
Action filled but nothing special or memorable in particular.
decent acting by JC.
Predictable storyline.
Wtf cinematography, *earthquake!!. omg pening. @.@.
½ February 11, 2013
Nic Tse & Jay Chou both can't really act...so action movies where they just look cool really suit them~~~
bbcfloridabound
Super Reviewer
December 11, 2012
As much action as you can pack into one film, If you like crime drama this is your film. Could watch this one over and over, English and subtitles. 5 stars 12-10=12
Super Reviewer
October 17, 2012
It`s one of the best action movies of 2012, It stands with The Expendables 2 and The Raid: Redemption. A adrenaline-pumping and mind-blowing edge of your seat action-pacjed thriller. An explosive tour de force of an action movie. A totally wild and exhilerating roller-coaster ride from start to finish. Director, Dante Lam is a slam of John Woo and Michael Bay and he just blows you away. Lam crafts another triumph. It`s packed with stylish and exciting action sequences, riveting drama, well-crafted set pieces and two strong performances from its two great leads Jay Chou and Nicholas Tse are pure dynamite, they set the screen on fire with their fury and strong charisma. A spectacular thrill-ride that is deeply moving with emotionally charged characters.
October 3, 2012
horrible and crazy lucky didnt watch this in cinema :X
October 1, 2012
The cover says it all... The best asian action film of 2012... although it may not be up there with some of the more action packed movies from asia recently it still manages to carry enough action and story to warrant a purchase
September 18, 2012
Lots of great action sequences. Nicholas Tse is crazier then ever:) Jay Chou plays a different type of character than usual that I thought worked very well.
½ September 7, 2012
I highly recommend this film. Intense action sequences, slick direction. The plot although having a ridiculous premise is still engaging enough to watch. I enjoyed it!!
August 26, 2012
Ok so this one was action filled from beginning to end and just when i thought it might be over it just kept going. I honestly wasnt looking for a solid story ... just thought i was gonna watch a bunch of guys just kick and shoot each other but the script had some high points. The beginning tho a bit cliched with the mother leaving her loved one behind and wanting to reacquaint. Her son who got shot in the head leaves on a quest that lands him in a world wind of choices between loyalty to family, friends and his job.

I liked the twist with the doctor and Jon constantly befriending and saving her almost throughout the story besides in the end. I would have liked to see Jon return home to his mother but hey the story was soo good the ending was still solid.

I definitely recommend not only because of the action scenes but a thousand bullets were flying and people actually go shot unlike some american made movies lead actors ...lol
Page 1 of 5