The Way Way Back - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Way Way Back Reviews

Page 2 of 140
August 21, 2016
A charmingly brilliant feel-good film. The Way Way Back is essentially a coming-of-age tale with a light hearted twist.
½ August 13, 2016
It was an okay movie a lot of parts made no sense but it was good
½ August 12, 2016
Surprising depth and performances all around, especially that of Carrell who stretches his range here. The plot is nothing new but the script is still inventive enough to accentuate its characters and provide a fresh feel.
½ August 11, 2016
Surprising depth and performances all around, especially that of Carrell who stretches his range here. The plot is nothing new but the script is still inventive enough to accentuate its characters and provide a fresh feel.
½ August 5, 2016
It's a drab teenage angst storyline, with drab characters, apart from Sam Rockwell who steals every scene he is in.
August 1, 2016
Fun and nostalgic....with a touch of melodrama ! 3 stars
August 1, 2016
A movie well worth the time. I am disappointed that it took me so long to see it. Sam Rockwell does a superb job at keeping the mood upbeat despite what Liam James' character, Duncan, experiences thanks to Trent (Steve Carell). This is an excellent movie.
July 28, 2016
This is a great coming-of-age movie. Steve Carell does a great job portraying a jerk boyfriend who belittles his girlfriend's son Duncan, played by Liam James. Your heart breaks for the awkward, shy Duncan and you cheer as he finds himself with the help of Owen, played by Sam Rockwell, who takes him under his wing.
July 24, 2016
J'ai adoré! Mais faut dire que je suis au départ une grande fan de films coming-of-age. Très bien fait, le jeu d'acteur parfait. Et Steve Carell qui prouve encore comme il peut jouer hors de ses rôles types. Wow!
July 21, 2016
Very cookie cutter script in the same film universe as films like Garden State, Little Miss Sunshine and Sunshine Cleaning, but overall an enjoyable film with excellent performances from an all-star cast and very likable characters, especially Sam Rockwell. I love it when Duncan's mom sees her sons Employee of the Month "Pop n Lock" picture at the water park.
½ July 19, 2016
A pretty enjoyable coming of age comedy.
½ July 11, 2016
Although it does not stand up to the genre, The Way Way Back is a fine coming-of-age story that manages to deliver some laughs and has a satisfactory ending - thanks largely to the acting prowess of its talented cast.
½ July 4, 2016
Recommended! A unique summer vacation comedy.
½ June 29, 2016
Sweet coming of ages story. Feel good to be back in that time. Nice cast and great tunes.
June 14, 2016
A perfect movie. This is the quintessential summer movie. The setting is perfect, it is hilariously funny, and the performances are astounding. This is a breath of fresh air. A top 10 favorite movie of mine. The screenplay is perfect, the performences are perfect (especially those of Sam Rockwell and Allison Janey), and.... Everything. Everything is perfect. An Absolute A+ movie. An real shame that it got no Oscar love (especially for Sam Rockwell).
June 7, 2016
Brilliant all around with exceptional performances.
April 27, 2016
Brilliantly performed, powerfully moving and rich with an amiable summertime feel, The Way, Way Back is an acutely distressing yet emotionally comforting underdog story that treats its protagonist -- and the audience -- with the warmth and compassion they truly deserve.
April 23, 2016
Loved this movie! Great summer feel good movie.
April 22, 2016
Funny and happy.
I found the main character Duncan very relatable to because I'm a socially awkward kid who is only happy at one place and I don't want to leave. This film was amazing brilliant acting and brilliant story line. I highly recommend you to watch it.
Page 2 of 140