The Way West - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Way West Reviews

Page 1 of 1
½ September 17, 2015
an o.k western i have seen better and i have seen worse, nice horses in movie though.
March 16, 2013
You can't go wrong with Kirk Douglas, Robert Mitchum, and Richard Widmark.
½ January 8, 2012
It's bloated and uneven but this is quite good at times and even rather grim.
½ October 5, 2010
A surprisingly shocking Western from the end of the studio era starring Kirk Douglas and Robert Mitchum and directed by John Ford disciple Andrew V. McLaglen.
October 6, 2009
wow umn just seen this movie 4 the 1st time n think that this is a good movie 2 watch....its got a good cast of actors/actressess thorughout this movie....i think that robert mitchum, richard widmark, michael mcgreevey, katherine justice, kirk douglas, lola albright, jack elam, harry carey je, connie sawyer play good roles/parts throughout this movie because you never know what 2 expect throughout this movie.....i think that the director of this western/action/adventure/thriller/drama movie had done a good job of directing this movie because you never know what 2 expect throughout this movie this is a great western movie 2 watch n its enjoyable
½ July 8, 2009
Good cast but a very lame and very long western. Mitchum is excellent and seeing Sally Field in her film debut is fun. Don't bother with this one unless you maybe want to see Mitchum in a cool Billy Jack-lookin' hat.
Super Reviewer
May 24, 2009
I thought it might be fun to see Mitchum and Douglas reunited twenty years after Out of the Past; I couldn't have been more wrong. The Way West is an overlong, tedious western based on a Pulitzer Prize winning novel, set - like Anthony Mann's infinitely superior Bend of the River - along the Oregon Trail. For all I know, the book may be wonderful, but McLagen's film of it has very little forward momentum. The three stars (Kirk Douglas, Robert Mitchum and Richard Widmark) struggle to find anything to get their teeth into, while the secondary characters - including an impressive Sally Field in her film début - meander through subplot after superfluous subplot. Mitchum's trademark world-weariness is so close to genuine boredom in this picture, I can only assume he spent too much time watching the rushes while making it. Beautiful to look at; a chore to watch.
½ August 17, 2008
Shows the true trials of the wagon trians to the west. This movie doesn't sugarcoat anything.
April 29, 2008
A top set notch cast for a western which has a good story.
December 24, 2007
6.0 out of 10 stars. This was a good movie. A solid western, though it felt more like a miniseries than a movie. Kirk does a great job and the acting overall is great. Check it out if you are a fan of westerns
December 16, 2007
I love a good western and I wish they would make them as good as they used to be. This movie was great because it was about settlers journeying to the west into the unknown. Great cast, great story and I love a movie where they have to travel from point A to B
November 8, 2007
Usually don't watch westerns.
November 8, 2007
This is an excellent movie. Has a star studded cast, Douglas,Mitchum, Widmark, Sally Field...Very much overlooked classic.
Page 1 of 1