The We and the I - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The We and the I Reviews

Page 1 of 2
December 16, 2013
Director Gondry succeeds in delivering a very entertaining and compelling human study.
June 14, 2013
Michel Gondry, working with nonprofessional actors, takes this one-location setup and-traffic conditions permitting-takes off.
May 17, 2013
Credit Gondry, like Tocqueville before him, with at least re-examining tired clichés and scraping the rust off stereotypes.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 16, 2013
An occasionally interesting glimpse into the lives of a diverse group of urban teens and their struggles, but also a film that's overly long and often annoying.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 16, 2013
Gondry is like a DJ scratching a record. He puts his own touches to the sound of the Bronx while staying true to its beat.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
May 9, 2013
All of the kids are good in their roles, mostly as characters one assumes resemble themselves. And as any actor will tell you, playing yourself is one of the toughest gigs around.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 3, 2013
Gondry's film is like a huge community, alive and -- despite a layer of protective swagger -- full of sympathy and love.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 18, 2013
An artful, scrambled, energetic blend of youthful connection and hormonally charged carousing [that] works more as a caffeinated conveyance of feeling than an actual plotted story.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
March 29, 2013
French director Michel Gondry takes a select group of Bronx teenagers, puts them on a bus, and lets them loose. For some of us, it's a scary ride.
March 29, 2013
Gondry captures some intermittent compelling moments, but overall the film lacks much depth or insight.
March 23, 2013
The We and the I is less a film than a social-studies experiment, an after-school project by a bunch of high-school kids exploring that eternal teen tension between the individual and the group.
March 22, 2013
Imagine a student video project with professional production values.
March 22, 2013
Gondry has talent, and I think he enjoyed being with these youngsters, but the film suffers in trying to impose something vaguely like a story on a framework that boils down to teen high jinks during a bus ride.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 21, 2013
"The We and the I" is a collection of very thin stories, many of which feel incomplete.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
March 21, 2013
Organic interactions are interrupted by Gondry's words, or abandoned in favor of fantasy sequences. The film's verisimilitude too often takes a backseat to conventional storytelling and Gondry's whimsical aesthetic.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 21, 2013
By the end of the line, we've been granted a privileged peek at today's youth that's intimidating and nostalgia-inducing in equal measure.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
March 20, 2013
Realistic look at teen culture has drinking, sex, language.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 18, 2013
Exuberantly finds the universality of adolescence. . . [in] a running theme of. . .peers vs. individual--how 1 plus 1 equals 3, when in groups, they become like someone else.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
March 14, 2013
A vivid snapshot of an interracial group of teenagers as they take a bus ride home on the last day of school.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
March 8, 2013
Michel Gondry gets back to his low-budget roots and rediscovers his formidable formal playfulness in the process.
Page 1 of 2