The We and the I - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The We and the I Reviews

Page 1 of 2
December 16, 2013
Director Gondry succeeds in delivering a very entertaining and compelling human study.
June 14, 2013
Michel Gondry, working with nonprofessional actors, takes this one-location setup and-traffic conditions permitting-takes off.
May 17, 2013
Credit Gondry, like Tocqueville before him, with at least re-examining tired clichés and scraping the rust off stereotypes.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 16, 2013
Gondry is like a DJ scratching a record. He puts his own touches to the sound of the Bronx while staying true to its beat.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
May 9, 2013
All of the kids are good in their roles, mostly as characters one assumes resemble themselves. And as any actor will tell you, playing yourself is one of the toughest gigs around.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 3, 2013
Gondry's film is like a huge community, alive and -- despite a layer of protective swagger -- full of sympathy and love.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 18, 2013
An artful, scrambled, energetic blend of youthful connection and hormonally charged carousing [that] works more as a caffeinated conveyance of feeling than an actual plotted story.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
March 29, 2013
French director Michel Gondry takes a select group of Bronx teenagers, puts them on a bus, and lets them loose. For some of us, it's a scary ride.
March 22, 2013
Imagine a student video project with professional production values.
March 21, 2013
By the end of the line, we've been granted a privileged peek at today's youth that's intimidating and nostalgia-inducing in equal measure.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
March 20, 2013
Realistic look at teen culture has drinking, sex, language.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 18, 2013
Exuberantly finds the universality of adolescence. . . [in] a running theme of. . .peers vs. individual--how 1 plus 1 equals 3, when in groups, they become like someone else.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
March 14, 2013
A vivid snapshot of an interracial group of teenagers as they take a bus ride home on the last day of school.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
March 8, 2013
Michel Gondry gets back to his low-budget roots and rediscovers his formidable formal playfulness in the process.
March 8, 2013
A return to successful form for (director Michel) Gondry after 2011's wretched "The Green Hornet"...captures the modern teen spirit, lingo and reliance on technology exceptionally well.
Full Review | Original Score: B
March 7, 2013
"The We and the I" neither scolds nor sentimentalizes its young characters. Instead the film invites viewers, of whatever age, to immerse themselves in the chaos, glee and heartache of a long ride home on the last day of school.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
March 7, 2013
There's a lot to love about the film, but it can get buried under the attempts to tell everyone's story at once.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
March 5, 2013
At its finest and most affecting, The We and the I is a window onto youth's forever moments ...
March 4, 2013
Often raucously funny and occasionally touching, with real insight into the behavior patterns of adolescents.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 2, 2013
A delirious representation of incipient personalities in bloom, its form as amorphous and reckless as the vibrant youths it portrays.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Page 1 of 2