The We and the I - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The We and the I Reviews

Page 1 of 2
March 21, 2013
Organic interactions are interrupted by Gondry's words, or abandoned in favor of fantasy sequences. The film's verisimilitude too often takes a backseat to conventional storytelling and Gondry's whimsical aesthetic.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 8, 2013
A shockingly horrendous film that strips away every bit of Michel Gondry's gifted imagination.
May 18, 2012
Muddled, muffled and mixing empty comedy with empty dramatics, "The We and the I" is an abject failure.
March 7, 2013
Evoking a New York City commuter's nightmare, this movie aims for poignancy but achieves mostly exasperation.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 8, 2013
Ambition only carries the viewing experience so far, as most of the effort is strangled by a persistent unpleasantness and Gondry's tone-deaf way with establishing sympathy for this public transit motley crew.
Full Review | Original Score: C
March 8, 2013
Fake documentaries annoy me - why not put in the effort and deliver the real thing? - and this one is not only aimless and stiff, it also rings false.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
March 23, 2013
The We and the I is less a film than a social-studies experiment, an after-school project by a bunch of high-school kids exploring that eternal teen tension between the individual and the group.
May 16, 2013
An occasionally interesting glimpse into the lives of a diverse group of urban teens and their struggles, but also a film that's overly long and often annoying.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 18, 2012
It feels inordinately unfocused, and a last-minute swerve into earnest speechifying doesn't help.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
March 29, 2013
Gondry captures some intermittent compelling moments, but overall the film lacks much depth or insight.
March 21, 2013
"The We and the I" is a collection of very thin stories, many of which feel incomplete.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
March 22, 2013
Gondry has talent, and I think he enjoyed being with these youngsters, but the film suffers in trying to impose something vaguely like a story on a framework that boils down to teen high jinks during a bus ride.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 5, 2013
Given the choice between handcrafted whimsy and heavy-handedness, we'll take the former, thanks.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 13, 2012
Amusing, oddly gripping and ultimately emotional, The We and the I is another triumph from Michel Gondry, something of an experiment that has paid off no end.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
March 14, 2013
A vivid snapshot of an interracial group of teenagers as they take a bus ride home on the last day of school.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
February 14, 2013
The film's claustrophobic one-location setting is continually opening out thanks to comic digressions and gonzo flashbacks, which are vividly brought to life in Gondry's trademark sticky-back-plastic style.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 2, 2013
A delirious representation of incipient personalities in bloom, its form as amorphous and reckless as the vibrant youths it portrays.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
February 19, 2013
Gondry's imagination is fully alive to the stories playing out in our culture, and he's happily finding new ways to retell them.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 8, 2013
A return to successful form for (director Michel) Gondry after 2011's wretched "The Green Hornet"...captures the modern teen spirit, lingo and reliance on technology exceptionally well.
Full Review | Original Score: B
March 22, 2013
Imagine a student video project with professional production values.
Page 1 of 2