The We and the I - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The We and the I Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Top Critic
Elizabeth Horkley
Philadelphia Inquirer
March 21, 2013
Organic interactions are interrupted by Gondry's words, or abandoned in favor of fantasy sequences. The film's verisimilitude too often takes a backseat to conventional storytelling and Gondry's whimsical aesthetic.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Chase Whale
March 8, 2013
A shockingly horrendous film that strips away every bit of Michel Gondry's gifted imagination.
James Rocchi
The Playlist
May 18, 2012
Muddled, muffled and mixing empty comedy with empty dramatics, "The We and the I" is an abject failure.
Robert Levin
March 7, 2013
Evoking a New York City commuter's nightmare, this movie aims for poignancy but achieves mostly exasperation.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Brian Orndorf
March 8, 2013
Ambition only carries the viewing experience so far, as most of the effort is strangled by a persistent unpleasantness and Gondry's tone-deaf way with establishing sympathy for this public transit motley crew.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Top Critic
Kyle Smith
New York Post
March 8, 2013
Fake documentaries annoy me - why not put in the effort and deliver the real thing? - and this one is not only aimless and stiff, it also rings false.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Sean Axmaker
Seattle Weekly
March 23, 2013
The We and the I is less a film than a social-studies experiment, an after-school project by a bunch of high-school kids exploring that eternal teen tension between the individual and the group.
Top Critic
Linda Barnard
Toronto Star
May 16, 2013
An occasionally interesting glimpse into the lives of a diverse group of urban teens and their struggles, but also a film that's overly long and often annoying.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Mike D'Angelo
AV Club
May 18, 2012
It feels inordinately unfocused, and a last-minute swerve into earnest speechifying doesn't help.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Todd Jorgenson
March 29, 2013
Gondry captures some intermittent compelling moments, but overall the film lacks much depth or insight.
Top Critic
John Hartl
Seattle Times
March 21, 2013
"The We and the I" is a collection of very thin stories, many of which feel incomplete.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Walter V. Addiego
San Francisco Chronicle
March 22, 2013
Gondry has talent, and I think he enjoyed being with these youngsters, but the film suffers in trying to impose something vaguely like a story on a framework that boils down to teen high jinks during a bus ride.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
David Fear
Time Out
March 5, 2013
Given the choice between handcrafted whimsy and heavy-handedness, we'll take the former, thanks.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Craig Skinner
October 13, 2012
Amusing, oddly gripping and ultimately emotional, The We and the I is another triumph from Michel Gondry, something of an experiment that has paid off no end.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Top Critic
Michał Oleszczyk
Chicago Sun-Times
March 14, 2013
A vivid snapshot of an interracial group of teenagers as they take a bus ride home on the last day of school.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Jamie Dunn
The Skinny
February 14, 2013
The film's claustrophobic one-location setting is continually opening out thanks to comic digressions and gonzo flashbacks, which are vividly brought to life in Gondry's trademark sticky-back-plastic style.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jesse Cataldo
Slant Magazine
March 2, 2013
A delirious representation of incipient personalities in bloom, its form as amorphous and reckless as the vibrant youths it portrays.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Paul Gallagher
The List
February 19, 2013
Gondry's imagination is fully alive to the stories playing out in our culture, and he's happily finding new ways to retell them.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Fr. Chris Carpenter
Movie Dearest
March 8, 2013
A return to successful form for (director Michel) Gondry after 2011's wretched "The Green Hornet"...captures the modern teen spirit, lingo and reliance on technology exceptionally well.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Kelly Vance
East Bay Express
March 22, 2013
Imagine a student video project with professional production values.
Page 1 of 2