The We and the I - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The We and the I Reviews

May 17, 2013
Credit Gondry, like Tocqueville before him, with at least re-examining tired clichés and scraping the rust off stereotypes.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 16, 2013
An occasionally interesting glimpse into the lives of a diverse group of urban teens and their struggles, but also a film that's overly long and often annoying.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 9, 2013
All of the kids are good in their roles, mostly as characters one assumes resemble themselves. And as any actor will tell you, playing yourself is one of the toughest gigs around.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 22, 2013
Gondry has talent, and I think he enjoyed being with these youngsters, but the film suffers in trying to impose something vaguely like a story on a framework that boils down to teen high jinks during a bus ride.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 21, 2013
"The We and the I" is a collection of very thin stories, many of which feel incomplete.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
March 21, 2013
Organic interactions are interrupted by Gondry's words, or abandoned in favor of fantasy sequences. The film's verisimilitude too often takes a backseat to conventional storytelling and Gondry's whimsical aesthetic.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 14, 2013
A vivid snapshot of an interracial group of teenagers as they take a bus ride home on the last day of school.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
March 8, 2013
Fake documentaries annoy me - why not put in the effort and deliver the real thing? - and this one is not only aimless and stiff, it also rings false.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
March 7, 2013
"The We and the I" neither scolds nor sentimentalizes its young characters. Instead the film invites viewers, of whatever age, to immerse themselves in the chaos, glee and heartache of a long ride home on the last day of school.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
March 7, 2013
There's a lot to love about the film, but it can get buried under the attempts to tell everyone's story at once.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
March 5, 2013
Given the choice between handcrafted whimsy and heavy-handedness, we'll take the former, thanks.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 5, 2013
At its finest and most affecting, The We and the I is a window onto youth's forever moments ...
May 18, 2012
It feels inordinately unfocused, and a last-minute swerve into earnest speechifying doesn't help.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
May 17, 2012
Rambling and unpolished, the film has a scrappy charm that springs organically from the characters and their stories rather than being artificially coaxed.