The Wizard of Oz - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Wizard of Oz Reviews

August 21, 2015
Judy Garland is perfectly cast as Dorothy. She is as clever a little actress as she is a singer and her special style of vocalizing is ideally adapted to the music of the picture.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
September 20, 2013
In truth, any opportunity to see the film on the big screen is welcome.
Full Review | Original Score: A
September 19, 2013
The greatest American movie fantasy.
Full Review | Original Score: A+
September 19, 2013
The blend of old-fashioned, classic storytelling with cutting-edge technology is undeniably enthralling.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
September 19, 2013
The result is quite stunning and a lot less gimmicky than it could have been.
September 19, 2013
Knowing that it was made without a single computer, and entirely by human ingenuity, makes it all the more worthy of marveling at, 75 years and an added dimension later.
September 18, 2013
Any reason to show your children "The Wizard of Oz" on a big screen seems like a good one.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
September 17, 2013
Even swollen to IMAX size, the movie is sharper than you've ever seen it, and the vaudevillian brilliance of the choreography (and Ray Bolger's straw-boned tumbling) is entirely undiminished.
September 17, 2013
"The Wizard of Oz" celebrates its 75th anniversary looking younger and more vital than ever, simultaneously advertising good old-fashioned storytelling and the most advanced technology available.
September 15, 2013
It looks fantastic, sounds great, and the 3-D effects (reportedly labored over for 16 months by a thousand technicians) are both subtle and respectfully applied.
October 9, 2012
A work of almost staggering iconographic, mythological, creative and simple emotional meaning, at least for American audiences, this is one vintage film that fully lives up to its classic status.
October 9, 2012
The story of course has some lovely and wild ideas, but the picture doesn't know what to do with them, except to be painfully literal and elaborate about everything.
August 26, 2011
There is something new in the land of cinema at long last.
June 10, 2008
One of only a handful of films that nearly everyone is familiar with.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
May 12, 2008
There's an audience for Oz wherever there's a projection machine and a screen.
May 12, 2008
Lavish in sets, adult in humor, it is a Broadway spectacle translated into make-believe.
June 26, 2007
I don't find the film light or joyful in the least -- an air of primal menace hangs about it, which may be why I love it.
January 26, 2006
Oz simply lays bare primal emotions, exposes our childhood anxieties about abandonment and powerlessness and brings to light the tension between the repressive comforts of home and the liberating terrors of the unknown marking all our adult lives.
November 3, 2005
Warner Home Video's DVD invites you to watch the movie a dozen more times on top of the many dozens of times you've already seen it.
Read More | Original Score: A
May 20, 2003
A delightful piece of wonder-working which had the youngsters' eyes shining and brought a quietly amused gleam to the wiser ones of the oldsters.
January 1, 2000
It scared the hell out of me when I used to watch it between my fingers when I was a kid, and (though it might say too much about my own emotional development) I still get the heebie-jeebies from a lot of it.
Top Critic
January 1, 2000
Magnificent sets and costumes, vivid Technicolor, and every resource of trick photography -- including a realistically contrived cyclone -- bolster the competent cast that strikes a happy medium between humor and make-believe.
January 1, 2000
Remains the weirdest, scariest, kookiest, most haunting and indelible kid-flick-that's- really-for-adults ever made in Hollywood.
Full Review | Original Score: A
January 1, 2000
This wonderful romp of a movie looks magical on the big screen: colors are a picnic for the eyes, details loom so clearly you can practically touch them and there's a sense of the larger-than-life with a film that's already larger than life.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
January 1, 2000
Its underlying story penetrates straight to the deepest insecurities of childhood, stirs them and then reassures them.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4