The Wizard of Oz - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Wizard of Oz Reviews

Page 1 of 1662
December 1, 2016
Have you ever searched long and hard for something dear to you but just couldn't find out where you left it. Well that was the case in this loving American fantasy film. Waking up lost in Munchkin land Dorothy's goal was to return home. Not knowing that along her journey she would meet friends who would become near to her and they would need her help more than anything. Searching for things they already possess they prove to be braver smarter and more caring than they expected.
November 27, 2016
Groundbreaking in every single way. From its visuals, songs, to it's storytelling and touching heartfelt message. The Wizard Of Oz is a must see for all ages even if you didn't grow up with it it's still an iconic piece of filmmaking
November 27, 2016
A classic! A must see for every child and those young at heart.
November 26, 2016
Rating: 9.4 out of 10.
November 22, 2016
I've seen it about 30 times. Love it!!!
November 13, 2016
hi people and my name is lori selligman and i love the wizard of oz i have got a lot of collectibles but i would like too have more oz items from lori seligman
October 21, 2016
The best movie ever made my favorite sense I first saw it
October 13, 2016
despite the slightly anti climatic ending there is a reason why the wizard of oz is a classic. a truly magical film.
October 4, 2016
WHY IS IT SO HARD TO MAKE A SIMPLE LIST ON HERE?>????
October 3, 2016
The Wizard of Oz
The Wizard of Oz is, simply put, a masterpiece of its age. It is a wonderful kid's movie, but it will also entertain teenagers and grownups, especially cinephiles. With a ton of incredible sceneries, wonderful characters, funny and innovative costumes, and a beautiful plot about not only adventure, but also family and home, it makes a movie anyone can watch and enjoy.

The protagonist in The Wizard of Oz is a little girl who is tired of the farm she is living in with her family. The farm looks like a very melancholy and dark place, and it seems as if no one has time for her. She is dreaming of a wonderful place, a happy place where she can be a kid. Shortly after this, she does get what she is wishing for, as she somehow after a storm ends up waking up in a fantasy world full of wonderful creatures and happy colors. She gets greeted as a hero, after unknowingly killing an evil witch during her crash landing into the world. Very soon she realizes how worried her mom must be after losing her daughter, and decides to somehow make it back home. This is how her adventure to meet the great and mystical Wizard of Oz begins. As she is making her way to meet the wizard we get to meet a ton of new, both evil and good, fairytale-like creatures, with very convincing and straight forward character traits. Her adventure gets very suspenseful as she and her newfound friends finally get to meet the highly spoken about Wizard of Oz, it gets unclear if she is actually going to make it home. But in the end they do figure things out, and she does make it back home to her family, where she feels like she actually belongs. A lot of the music we get to hear throughout her adventure are cleverly describing what is happening, and makes the film even more fun to watch. It also serves as some help for the younger audience to keep up with the story.

Even though the film is almost 80 years old, the plot has not grown old the slightest, and even though the special effects do not hold up to today's standards (it was made in 1939, so we are going to have to accept it), they are still impressive considering what year the movie was made. As a watcher you look forward to seeing the next scenery, or how the next creature will be and look like. This makes the movie very enjoyable. This also helps with the pacing, as you are always looking forward to the next scene (a lot of older movies tends to be slow paced, and sometimes therefore boring for audience nowadays).

The Wizard of Oz catches the essence of adventure, dreams and excitement. It is impossible not to smile as the creatures of this new exciting world sings songs about their newfound hero and what's awaiting her. It was a bliss watching this movie, a timeless classic! As it states in the beginning - "Time has been powerless to put its kindly philosophy out of fashion".

/Leonard
September 24, 2016
The Wizard of Oz (1939) C-101m. ???? D: Victor Fleming. Judy Garland, Frank Morgan, Ray Bolger, Bert Lahr, Jack Haley, Billie Burke, Margaret Hamilton, Terry (Todo). Movie magic as sweet girl (and kawaii dog) are swept away to mystical land of Oz where delight and friendliness at every turn is varnished by an evil witch. With the help of a Scarecrow, a Tin Woodman, and Lion, she can restore Oz to greatness, but she just wants to go back to her family. Super casting, legendary scoring . . . you just can't beat this film! "Over the Rainbow" number and Herbert Stothart's soaring music won richly deserved Academy Awards. Based on the L. Frank Baum novels; followed by RETURN TO OZ in 1985. And has there ever been a more winning selection of characters?
September 23, 2016
All time classic. Good wholesome family movie.
September 6, 2016
The bad witch is very bad and has very magical powers. I liked the movie because the Winky guards are silly and hilarious. The nice witch is really nice.
August 16, 2016
This. Is. The. Best. Ever. Movie. To. Watch
August 3, 2016
A must see fantasy adventure fun for everyone! Judy Garland was a delight!
July 31, 2016
The film that followed the success of Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs! The Wizard of Oz is fantastic with its unforgettable characters and beautiful visuals.
July 30, 2016
if you haven't seen it then i feel sorry for you...
July 16, 2016
The acting was honestly so terrible and it seemed like a character was crying or freaking out every three minutes. I didn't like the music and all the OTHER characters were more loud and obnoxious than whimsical. The plot was weak for most of the movie until the final fight scene between the witch and Dorothy. Was very bored while watching and wanted to turn it off after about 30 minutes to an hour. Will not watch again.
July 10, 2016
Wonderful musical numbers, innovative set pieces and a wise and magical narrative makes The Wizard of Oz a classic for all audiences.
Page 1 of 1662