The Woman in the Fifth - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Woman in the Fifth Reviews

Page 1 of 3
September 26, 2012
Though it's disguised as a "thriller," there's a good deal more than thrills to savor and ponder in The Woman in the Fifth.
August 26, 2012
Read More | Original Score: B-
July 30, 2012
A dark testimonial to the notion of artistic bloom and creative salvation through misery -- an intellectually engaging puzzle box, a movie that happily dances about on both literal and metaphorical planes.
Full Review | Original Score: B
June 28, 2012
Those who prefer tidy, "Murder, She Wrote" closure are advised to shop elsewhere.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 28, 2012
The last fifth of "Fifth" is pretty unsatisfying. But the rest of it is tense, intelligent fun.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
June 21, 2012
The movie casts such a seductive air of mystery that the resolution feels anticlimactic, yet there's plenty to enjoy along the way, particularly Hawke's nuanced lead performance as a quiet man with secrets of his own.
June 21, 2012
When do we first sense reality slip away? Do we? Can the film be accepted on its own terms? Can the point of view be trusted?
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
June 18, 2012
Ethan Hawke gives a standout bilingual performance in this low-key psychological thriller.
June 15, 2012
Hawke's sympathetic performance gives the film an emotional continuity that seems to make sense of things even when things don't make sense at all.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
June 15, 2012
It is guaranteed to haunt you for awhile.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
June 15, 2012
It's a thing of beauty to watch Ethan Hawke and Kristin Scott Thomas work together, but we'd be lying if we said we understood this drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
June 14, 2012
[It's] watchable and enjoyable, but it's fairly impenetrable, and it gets more peculiar as it goes along.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 14, 2012
Although Mr. Pawlikowski often shows Mr. Hawke in medium and long shots, the actor draws you close.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
June 14, 2012
We are never sure if what we are seeing is actually happening, including the nature scenes that Pawlikowski interjects as contrast to the urban jungle - and also as a symbol of man's animal nature.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
June 14, 2012
I wouldn't have minded a little more time with these characters, before they faded away into the gray Paris sidewalks.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
June 14, 2012
This pensive, seductive drama is full of devious strategies, which begin with its protagonist's name: T. Ricks. Tricks.
June 13, 2012
[Pawlikowski] creates a nice sense of paranoia and multicultural bewilderment that's the welcome tonal opposite of Woody Allen's romanticized Midnight in Paris fripperies.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
June 12, 2012
You're not sure what this is till it's over, but certainly Hawke's performance is his nerviest and most sincere in a decade.
June 12, 2012
Pawel Pawlikowski has crafted a film that throbs with substantial personal weight and bristles with a violent, haunting interior life.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 23, 2012
A beautifully-crafted, intriguingly-mysterious trip into the strange workings of the human condition.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 3