The Words - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Words Reviews

September 7, 2012
A mostly middling drama.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 7, 2012
The story-within-a-story-within-a-story is so slight and inconsequential, like the tiniest of a set of Russian nesting dolls, that we may be forgiven for letting our minds wander toward bedtime and tomorrow's errands.
September 7, 2012
The premise is ambitious -- if not a little hokey -- but the meager themes of ephemeral authorship and constructed realities aren't exactly revelatory.
September 7, 2012
Bradley Cooper's funniest movie since "The Hangover" - unfortunately, unintentionally this time ...
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
September 7, 2012
This film's layered storytelling lacks the fluidity, grace, or good humour, to pull off its conceit.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 7, 2012
Romanticized claptrap.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
September 7, 2012
This is a film that's thoughtful and elegant, with just enough loose strings to keep things intriguing.
Full Review | Original Score: B
September 7, 2012
A well-acted but narratively limp indie that's undermined by a failure to connect emotionally with its audience.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
September 6, 2012
It would have been more fun if I'd brought something to throw at the screen.
September 6, 2012
It's a snooze.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
September 6, 2012
Writer/directors Brian Klugman and Lee Sternthal chose to make The Words as bland and obvious as its title, wringing out any subtlety or artistry.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 6, 2012
"The Words" is a decent, ambitious, unoriginal film about a decent, ambitious, unoriginal writer. Both aim for greatness. Both fall short.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 6, 2012
A clever, entertaining yarn that doesn't bear close scrutiny.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
September 6, 2012
The Words founders on a spurious dichotomy between love and art.
September 6, 2012
The Words resonates - richly, remarkably.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 6, 2012
I had planned to watch it, but there's nothing to see.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 6, 2012
It reinforces the misconception that great works arrive in a burst of creativity brought on by a tragic love affair, ideally in Paris.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
September 6, 2012
Even with one story line and time frame too many, the movie conjures a mean Faustian bargain and leaves a classic dramatic question hanging in its air: What would you do if faced with similar circumstances?
Full Review | Original Score: B+
September 6, 2012
While it's no chore to watch so many appealing actors, it does feel like something of a waste to see them hemmed in by such flat material.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 6, 2012
For the most part, it's an adequate romantic drama orbiting an intriguing moral dilemma, but the decision to use a three-layered approach to tell the story makes little sense from a dramatic or narrative perspective.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 6, 2012
Witlessly titled and executed...
September 6, 2012
As good looking but shallow as its multiple leading men.
September 6, 2012
The problem is with the three nested stories themselves, which...are treacly variations on what a not-too-inventive Nicholas Sparks enthusiast might imagine to be Hemingway-esque.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 6, 2012
The fatal flaw of this screenwriting term paper is that Cooper's character is a boring jerk we're supposed to regard as a nice guy who made an honest mistake.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 6, 2012
The Words is a movie about writing and books made by people who apparently rarely read.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
September 6, 2012
You wish it were better than it is, simply because nobody ever makes literary thrillers these days.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 6, 2012
It becomes preoccupied with exploring its fiction vs. reality theme and connecting the dots of its many plot strands at the expense of character development.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
September 6, 2012
What do we learn? That it's bad to steal the work and identify of other people. For this we need an oh-so-serious movie?
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 6, 2012
Not bad.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 6, 2012
Though set in the literary world and among the suffering souls who populate it, The Words appears to be the work of people who have never actually read a book.
Full Review | Original Score: D-
September 6, 2012
I enjoyed the settings, the periods and the acting. I can't go so far as to say I cared about the story, particularly after it became clear that its structure was too clever by half.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 5, 2012
Another actor might have made us feel something complicated for this troubled soul, but Cooper merely looks like the kind of guy who would steal another man's story.
September 5, 2012
A lush but fumbling literary melodrama outfitted with an attractive, generations-spanning cast and a puzzle box of three competing narratives.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 5, 2012
"The Words" leaves nothing to the imagination, smothering all these storylines in narration that spells out the actions we're seeing or emotions we could infer for ourselves.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 4, 2012
By the time a grizzled Jeremy Irons saunters in, ready to dole out a comeuppance, perceptive viewers will have mentally flipped to the last page.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 30, 2012
A literary film that stands to work best for those who don't read.