Then She Found Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Then She Found Me Reviews

November 17, 2011
Read More | Original Score: 1/5
May 13, 2009
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
October 18, 2008
Full Review | Original Score: C
October 18, 2008
Unexpectedly sharp, light and appealing; a testament to Hunt's skills behind the camera.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
September 19, 2008
Hunt's film does soften the heart, not least because of its honesty and its sensitivity to some unfashionable dilemmas.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/6
July 16, 2008
From the looks of things, the actors were simply let loose as themselves.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 16, 2008
Suffers from, if anything, a lack of pure confidence in the story, the actors or the audience.
May 9, 2008
Hunt draws some good performances from the cast and wisely chose a low-key personal story for her directorial debut.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 9, 2008
A few plot turns too many undermine Helen Hunt's Then She Found Me, and that's too bad, because Hunt shows some nice touches here both in front of and behind the camera.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
May 5, 2008
It's the kind of film that practically invites you to forget about it two days after you've seen it.
May 2, 2008
Hunt has what it takes to direct; you can see it here, in small doses. In an arena filled largely with men, it will be interesting to see what she does next.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 2, 2008
Overall Then She Found Me, though earnest and clearly heartfelt, just feels tired; like Hunt's sad-eyed April, it lacks spark.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
May 2, 2008
Where it really matters -- working with actors -- veteran filmmakers could learn from Hunt.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 2, 2008
This adaptation of an Elinor Lipman novel is Hunt's feature directing debut, and under the circumstances she might have been wiser to give the lead role to someone else.
May 2, 2008
What ought to be a bittersweet movie about a woman's momentary unraveling feels like a workout class: Cardio melodrama.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 2, 2008
By the closing scene, I felt privileged to be along for April's emergence from the deep waters of daughterhood and her realization that when love knocks, the heart opens wide.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 1, 2008
There's a gentle realism that makes room for laughs, drama and the slightest touch of farce, never spilling into the comically cheap and managing to explore subtler issues involving adoption
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 28, 2008
With the screenwriters Alice Arlen and Victor Levin, Hunt adapted the story from a 1990 novel by Elinor Lipman, and has turned the material into a fine, tense, unpredictable comedy of mixed-up emotions and sudden illuminations.
April 27, 2008
...Hunt, in her directorial debut, can't seem to decide whether she'd rather make a spicy ethnic dish or bland comfort food.
April 25, 2008
For a "personal project," it's all fairly impersonal and predictable. By the second act, you know everything that's going to happen in the third. And by the third -- well, I almost found myself missing Meg Ryan.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
April 25, 2008
A smart little bittersweet comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 25, 2008
Without strong guidance, the self-conscious lines make the characters sound like, well, characters rather than actual human beings.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
April 25, 2008
A bizarre, overcooked broth.
April 25, 2008
Then She Found Me, a serious comedy, is more impressive for what it refuses to do than for its modest accomplishment.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
April 25, 2008
Helen Hunt deserves better.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
April 24, 2008
The anxieties and angst of middle-class, middle-aged women remain rich, underexplored cinematic territory, but Hunt's instantly forgettable film does little to make this deep vein of cultural experience seem vital or exciting.
Full Review | Original Score: C
April 24, 2008
Hunt's performance is terrific and far more nuanced than her Oscar-winning turn in As Good as It Gets. As an actress, she helps make her director look very good indeed.
Full Review | Original Score: B
April 24, 2008
Gaunt, grim and wound as tight as a ukulele's string, April Epner (Helen Hunt), the elementary schoolteacher undergoing the mother of all midlife crises in Then She Found Me, is a stern challenge to an audience's collective sympathy.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
April 24, 2008
Uncomfortable moments and near-nervous breakdowns transition into Oxygen-channel cuteness, which we're supposed to read as some sort of approximation of...messy real life? Not quite.
Read More | Original Score: 2/6
April 23, 2008
This is the sort of movie that gives 'chick flicks' a bad name.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
April 23, 2008
It's the kind of film that only a mother, which is to say my mother, would love.
April 16, 2008
A funny and touching story about the way we create families both by blood and by choice.
October 1, 2007
A low-key comedy in which characters always seem just one misstep away from full-out tragedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
September 19, 2007
With subtle laughs but solid emotional thrust, it will play very well with older audiences.