There's Something About Mary - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

There's Something About Mary Reviews

Page 1 of 5
January 29, 2005
...there were also moments when I was actually bored.
Read More | Original Score: C+
January 1, 2000
This reprehensible and deeply unfunny film is obviously critic-proof.
January 10, 2003
[The filmmakers], out of some hyperactive reflex, grab at any joke they can get, like toddlers trying desperately to spear fish in a creek--a shallow creek.
Full Review | Original Score: D
January 1, 2000
I wasn't completely won over with so much comedy that depended on making fun of someone else's problems.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
January 1, 2000
I was completely and utterly bored by it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/10
January 1, 2000
The final outcome seems hopelessly arbitrary.
January 1, 2000
Is it worth seeing? Well, not if you want something genuinely witty.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
Comparing this to other movies that were actually funny is insulting.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
January 1, 2000
I laughed at this movie, but I also felt a little shell-shocked afterward.
January 1, 2000
There's Something About Mary doesn't approach the witty anarchy of movies like Animal House, The Naked Gun, or Hairspray.
Full Review | Original Score: C
January 1, 2000
Positively reeks of tastelessness and lack of common decency.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
January 1, 2000
Stand warned.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
January 1, 2000
Some people don't know when they've taken a joke too far.
October 15, 2002
The Farrellys work so hard to be outrageous they end up sacrificing story, characters, even comedy, to achieve maximum gross-out.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
What a blessed relief is laughter.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 1, 2000
I haven't laughed this hard at any 1998 offering to-date.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 11, 2007
It was the raunchy comedy that raked in the headlines and had audiences shaking their heads in offended laughter, then coming back the weekend after, dragging in friends by their arms.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
December 6, 2005
Everyone falls for Mary -- why wouldn't they? -- and no one is spared from the Farrellys' razor sharp raunch.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/5
February 3, 2009
This one is dumbest. And funniest, as if that matters even a little bit!
February 3, 2009
Crudely made, somewhat overlong and larded with plenty of things that don't work, pic stands as proof positive that a comedy can be far from perfect and still hit the bull's-eye if it delivers when it counts in its big scenes.
Page 1 of 5